About the Homestay

Suburban Shabby chic
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

I am single in my 6os...... Used to be a Nurse and have travelled..... mainly in Indian Ocean , Africa, India and SE Asia.
I live near Adelaide...a good walk into town along the river or parklands. Free hire bikes and bus nearby too.
I do enjoy getting Australian movies to share in the evenings....I sew and enjoy quilting and patchwork. I have been known to sew maps of Australia on T shirts.....
I dont have a garage so if you come by car you can park out the front.

I have enjoyed hosting travellers ....some staying short periods other longer...depending on circumstances.....and many budget travellers too.

I have travelled too and been the recpient of many warm invitations to peoples houses... It is nice to be able to offer
.

Additional Info

Vipassana meditators welcome. www.dhamma.org

I speak English...a passable French..and some Swahili. and Seychelles creole.

House Facilities
  • Laundry
  • TV

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 2 nights

Maximum stay is for 21 nights

Check-in date must be before 24 Sep 2019

Available for given dates

Main Bedroom.
From $30 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Suitable for singles, couple.. queen size bed... sheets and blankets, bedside cabinet,. lampshades, wardrobe and mirror. Upstairs next to bathroom

Facilities
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$35
$50
Weekly Price
$240
$315
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

My unit is in the Inner north east of Adelaide...In Gilberton..... otherwise known as Walkerville.....about 5 kms from the city.

It is 2 bus rides from the airport.....Tickets last for 2 hours and can be used as many times in that time... For International students and new arrivals coming to Adelaide..this is ideal to start your stay in Adelaide.

It is a 5 minute walk from the main road to my unit.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Beach
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Museum
  • Shopping Centre
  • Amusement Park
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals will incur an additional cost. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Diet Type available on request
  • Vegetarian
  • Coeliac
  • Lactose Intolerant

House Rules

I prefer people who do not smoke, take drugs or drink alcohol.
I prefer that if you have stayed at backpackers that you do not use your bedding in my house. .....I fear bed bugs...Sorry...but this is serious...Linen is provided.
Please do not invite strangers to my home......
Do lock the unit securely front and back when you go out.
I don't mind sometimes going out with you during the day to various places.
Please assist with house hold tasks.....as necessary and as asked....
Please open the window in your bedroom every morning and the bathroom after use...in winter a small amount....
Please be discrete with my phone number and wifi connection number......

Smoking is not allowed.

7 Reviews

  • 1516086619 original

    Australia
    Age 45 - 54

    3 hearts
    February 2018

    This guest awarded the host 3 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Yvonne in ,

    Thanks..

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Australia
    Age 45 - 54

    4 hearts
    August 2016

    Close to Adelaide City in a quiet suburb close to supermarket and shops, nice neighbours. Yvonne quite helpful provided local guide, internet wifi, meals. Recommend anyone who wants to explore Adelaide, South Australia

  • 1465143070 original

    United Kingdom
    Age 35 - 44

    3 hearts
    July 2016

    Yvonne was extremely welcoming, helpful and chatty and I enjoyed meeting her. She made very nice breakfasts and clearly enjoys meeting new people. The room itself was very comfortable and nice, although the downstairs area was cluttered.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Yvonne in ,

    Yes a bit of a mix up for me with dates. Yes a visitor had to move downstairs amongst my fabrics to accomodate both overseas visitors. Rachel was very undestanding and gracious. Happy travels... Yvonne

  • 1457821219 original

    Taiwan
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    June 2016

    It's quiet and nice place near north Adelaide. Thanks a lot.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Australia

    4 hearts
    March 2016

    Yvonne is a lovely person with a lot of heart.

    The room was excellent, along with the bed, although her house was rather warm in the hot weather. The rest of the house was a little crowded!

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    France
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    March 2016

    Yvonne was fantastic host, she was welcoming and beyond accomodation. Such a beautiful, colourful and cosy house! We talk about art , textile... And yvonne visited me around the city. Very nice
    See you soon and thank you for all Yvonne

  • 1496801162 original

    United States
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    October 2015

    Yvonne was an unexpected delight. The room was comfortable, clean and the bed was just perfect for a restful nights sleep. We drank tea together and watched comedy on her television. Her place was very close and convenient to everything. When we return to Adalaide she will be our only choice. We recommend this homestay to anyone.

How do I book?

Contact the host about your stay - tell them a little about yourself, why you are staying and ask any questions you have about their homestay. You will be able to book immediately after sending your message.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies