Nature's Edge on Black Mountain

Homestay in BLACK MOUNTAIN - Black Mountain, Australia

About the Homestay

Rural Cosy
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

My home is in a sem-rural community, just 5ks from Cooroy, which is the nearest shopping and dining vicinity. Noosa Heads is thirty minutes drive away, with several sandy beaches travelling south towards Caloundra. In five minutes you can be on the Bruce Highway and travel north to Hervey Bay, Rainbow Beach and Fraser Island or south to Brisbane and everywhere in between. I am retired from the work force and live alone, except for my faithful companion, a Staffy named Bella. She is well behaved and I keep her confined until I can determine a guest's affinity with pets. The bedroom I have available is reasonably large, containing a very comfortable queen bed and some hanging space. There is a ceiling fan for summer and an oil-filled heater for winter. The room has access to the living area of the house and has a private entry to the front veranda. Guests have their own bathroom and toilet, with a washing machine being available should they wish to use it. A private car park is located just a few steps away from the front veranda. Guests are welcome to store any food items in my refrigerator and to cook meals in my kitchen. I have plenty of crockery, glassware and cutlery for their use as well. All I ask is that they do their own washing up and clean the area in which they have been working in. I should mention here that I do not own a microwave oven but if anything needs heating up my steamer does a great job, even better I would say. Everyone is welcome to explore my small property, enjoy the garden and my living area. I have dabbled in several crafts over the years and dedicated myself to natural therapies in the form of massage and energy healing. These days I spend most of my time writing, having published several books. My language is English but I do have a little knowledge of French as well.

My Pets

Dog

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Parking
  • Internet Access

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 2 nights

Maximum stay is for 28 nights

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
Guest room
From $28 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom private (exclusive to guest)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

The bedroom is spacious, with french doors opening onto the front veranda, so guests can come and go privately. There is ample wardrobe space, a ceiling fan for summer and an oil-filled heater for winter. Guests have a private bathroom close by.

Facilities
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Mirror
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$35
$45
Weekly Price
$200
$250
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

My home is located five minutes from the town of Cooroy. It is a similar distance to Pomona, on the other side of the Bruce Highway and about ten minutes drive to Eumundi, which is famous for its market. Noosa Main Beach is thirty minutes away with several beaches along the David Low Way in the direction of Caloundra. There is no public transport close to my home but there is a bus and a train service to and from Cooroy. There are several restaurants and shops to suit every taste in the Noosa Shire.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Bowling
  • Beach
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Shopping Centre
  • Amusement Park
  • Fishing
  • Restaurant
  • Airport
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

Guests need to be aware that I am on tank water and have a waste-water system. This means being mindful of how water is used. Taking a bath is usually not a problem but please ask first as it depends on recent rainfall. Having a private waste-water system means not flushing any foreign objects in the toilet. If a guest chooses to use the kitchen to cook in, they are expected to clean up as well. Guests are invited to eat at the dining table rather than in the bedroom. Should they need to smoke it is requested they do so outside and to dispose of their butts and ash with great care. It is appreciated that guests can communicate approximate plans for leaving and returning to the home so everyone knows what to expect. Please note it is required for guests to pay in full within twenty four hours of their arrival. I also ask guests to give me at least 7 days’ notice for any cancellation, in order to receive a refund.

Smoking Rules

Your host is a non-smoker.

Smoking is not allowed.

7 Reviews

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8znzcxmjg zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  546e9eec0c424c11b1c0feefb586500cbad655be&style=small

    Australia
    Age 45 - 54

    4 hearts
    June 2024

    Simonne is a lovely host
    An older property with beautiful views to the green hills to the back of the property

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8znjmxnzk zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  de167d60c441b293e42a0a1c959ad5fc5dbee4b1&style=small

    Australia
    Age 35 - 44

    4 hearts
    May 2024

    Simonne's house is a very peaceful and comfortable place to stay. It's located in a quiet, rural area with lots of bird life around to listen to and nice gardens surrounding the house along with a few pet chickens. Simonne is very accommodating in making sure her guests enjoy their stay and she provides good conversation while allowing guests to have their privacy. You should be aware that her lovely dog Bella lives inside the house and as would be expected this creates a bit of a smell, mainly in the lounge area though not in the bedroom at all. But Bella is well behaved and it is nice to join her and Simonne on their afternoon walk. A pleasant surprise was finding a comfy single lounge chair in the corner of the room which wasn't shown in the photos but was great to sit and relax in. The internet speed is not always consistently fast but it is handy to have it available and it is adequate for most online tasks you might want to do. The house and many of the fixtures are showing their age but it is a very pleasant place to stay and the quiet location ensures a good night's sleep.

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8znzy4mtu zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  0bbf0e03260edd625567ce5ef0150afa137c0b5f&style=small

    France
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    February 2024

    We loved our stay with Simone it was the perfect peaceful location to explore the region. We had a good size bedroom. We enjoy Simone conversation and we highly recommend her place.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8znjkwndm zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  f404aca754ca24c26ee8cc5ebc65ba4e42c62b6c&style=small

    Japan
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    October 2023

    The best host I could ever ask for
    I would highly recommend anyone to stay at Simonne's place.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Simonne in ,

    Thank you Dai. I will never forget your smiling face and engaging laughter.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Australia
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    August 2023

    This guest awarded the host 5 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Simonne in ,

    Wonderful and thank you Troy.

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Australia
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    April 2023

    Simonne is a kind and helpful soul, she and her fur baby Bella made my stay very enjoyable. Simonne’s home is aging, However I loved the spacious bedroom, my own bathroom and even the use of the Kitchen and laundry! This stay was the best value for money I have found ever.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Simonne in ,

    Thank you Heather and best of luck with your next move.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Australia
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    April 2022

    Simonne is lovely and very helpful. I really enjoyed getting to know her during my stay. Her house and property are beautiful and peaceful, and very easy to get to. I highly recommend staying with Simonne.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Simonne in ,

    Thank you for such kind words and I am pleased that you enjoyed staying in my part of the world.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies