About the Homestay

Suburban Spacious
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

We offer full board for stays of one week and longer. This includes laundry, and 2 meals a day-(Breakfast and Dinner). Under the Meals section it states there's a charge for extra meals - I can't change that. Most of our guests are International homestay students from China, Taiwan or Hong Kong.

We reside in a large, 2 story, 8 bedroom house, (3 residences under one roof) high on a hill with views. Situated 5 minutes walk from parks, shopping, transport, tavern, restaurants and supermarket.

My family and I have recently moved to Australia from China. I taught small yellow skinned beings "Oral English" for 10 years there. From 2000-2003 in Brisbane, I hosted many adult home-stay students from all round the world and throughly enjoyed it. So now, I'm enjoying it this time together with my family.

Our house is situated about 9km north of the city centre which is surrounded by nature reserves where you can see and hear a variety of Australian wildlife such as Kangaroos, Koalas, Kookaburras and many more. It's located just a 5 minute walk to a local shopping plaza, with regular public transport, schools and great eating places. I'm an ex chef, so home cooked meals are quick & delicious.

We live in a secure house with security screens and a monitored alarm. It's situated high on a hill and overlooks a shopping plaza. It has ample off street guest parking.

There are Indian and Thai restaurants close by. There's also parks, playgrounds, kindergartens, hospitals, medical centres, and great eating places-sit in and take away (fast food chains). Your room is on the 2nd floor opposite a shared bathroom.
Two of the rooms have double size beds and one Kingsize bedroom with clothes drawers, bedside tables, study desk/chair, large closet, ceiling fan, wall mirror if you like looking at yourself and access to wifi.
Our backyard is a little plain and a work in progress, as we've recently just bought this property, so we've yet to finish landscaping it.

About us: I'm a young 1963 caucasian model, with a spare tire and faded paintwork, Sociable and humorous.
She's a young looking 35 year old Chinese, and speaks both Chinese and English. Our daughter can understand and speak both languages. Clever little monkey. You will instantly become either her Uncle, or Aunty or possibly both if you're a couple.

Smoking is allowed as is praying, but cigarettes must be choked on outside. Praying is usually done when my wife cooks or drives.... ai you wei!

Our favourite place to visit is Southbank Parklands along the Brisbane river in the CBD. It's a great place to buy Crocodile steaks or dance with Koalas & has great swimming areas and an artificial beach with a fantastic market street and cool restaurants. It's also possible to swim in the Brisbane river that runs along side of Southbank, as long as you're ok with the odd Bull-Shark, Giant Electric Eels, Salt water Crocodile (Salty), marine diesel from the river taxis and Armed Queensland Water Police with flippers and spear guns.

Additional Info

We speak both English and Chinese in our house. Other languages are welcome, just no bad language.

House Facilities
  • Laundry
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Smoke alarm on each floor
  • Non Smoking
  • Allow Smoking
  • Air Conditioning

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 1 night

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Available for given dates

The Ocean Room
From $36 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

North East facing room, lots of sunshine in the morning, clothes drawers, closet, mirror, lockable door, study desk and lamp, polished wood floor with rugs. Sun Block-out roller blinds. Ceiling fan.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$45
$65
Weekly Price
$286
$409
Monthly price
$1,092
$1,560
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

The Castle on a hill, overlooking a shopping plaza and is located on the North side of Brisbane's CBD, around 9km from the CBD and takes 20 minutes to drive to CBD or 25-35 minutes by public bus, depending on traffic. This area is very safe and frequented by many Brisbane South residents for employment.
There're coffee shops, fast food chains, variety stores, large supermarket, BWS liquor store, the best butcher on the north side, bakery, hair and nail salons, kindergarten, Baptist Church, Fitness gym, Medical centre, Dentist, Physio and even a Vet.
There's also a private hospital nearby and other Christian Churches.
There are 6 other large shopping plazas close by, ranging from 5 minutes to 15 minutes drive and accessible by public bus.

Brisbane International Airport is just a 25 minute drive, a 5 minute walk to the 345 city bus, or a 2 minute walk to the 346 city bus and 6km to the nearest commuter train station. Hence bus travel being the preferred option.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Swimming
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Shopping Centre
  • Health club
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Full Breakfast
  • Full Board

House Rules

No smoking inside. Please either wipe your shoes or take them off inside the entry door. We can provide house shoes if you don't have your own.
If you need to have a late night smoke, then please exit back door through kitchen, close insect screen door after entry/exit and lock main doors after you as wildlife will enter the house, such as Geckos or Mosquitos. No Crocodiles or Dingos.... I promise. There's also a garden table and chairs at the base of the rear outside staircase.
No guests/friends are allowed to stay over in your room for security reasons.
If you like late night conversations after 11pm via phone or face to face, then please speak quietly... our floor is wooden and noise travels easily. Showers/Bathing needs to be over by 12am (Midnight)
If you have to wash clothes, please don't use the bathroom basin and no drip drying of clothes in your closet. I do all the laundry here, however.... if you're afraid of me handling your under garments, then you may use the laundry tub, which is situated in the kitchen and hang your wet clothes on the outside drying line.

Smoking is allowed outdoors only.

3 Reviews

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ymtizmzu zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  7ba75d2bc34f406e9736bec41e6bf4c432c76adc&style=small

    Australia
    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    November 2017

    Nice and clean! Friendly people and dinner and breakfast included! Awesome! Much appreciated! Will definitely go back

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Paul in ,

    You're welcome anytime Trev... when ever you have more work North of here.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xotizodu zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  d5f925556a8916406a21b5f388be2c250a799396&style=small

    Taiwan
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    September 2017

    I have a really great time in Brisbane with Paul and the family!
    They are nice,friendly and helpful.
    Their daughter Jolie is really cute and vivacious. She makes everyone smile and feel welcome.The house is lovely and the room is clean and comfortable. The meal is also delicious! There are bus stop,supermarket and post office near the house. And the bus to CBD comes every ten to fifteen minutes,very convenient.

    Highly recommend to anyone who tend to stay in Brisbane!

    Read more »

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    China
    Age 18 - 24

    4 hearts
    June 2017

    This guest awarded the host 4 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies