About the Homestay

the best SimpleCosy
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

Our home is situated in the best suburb in Melbourne. We are in Brunswick, an 8 minute walk from the trams and social life of Sydney Rd, a 5 min walk from Anstey Station (just 15 mins to Melb Central) and a bus just around the corner. Our family consists of one Irish-Aussie mum, two primary school aged kids and our very friendly cats.

The kitchen/living room is a good size, the garden is a work in progress (very slow), and there is one shared bathroom and one toilet room. The home has hydronic heating for the colder weather. The main Family bedroom has 2 double beds in a bunk style, chairs, small wardrobe, shelves, and desk. It is suitable for up to two adults and two children. The Lovely Little Room is exactly that, it is cute with a single bed, large wardrobe, small desk etc.

The children go to bed early and are used to having guests in our home and respect privacy.

I have a small home business (personal training) which I operate from a small studio at the rear but separate from the home.

We have loved being homestay hosts and have met a great bunch of people from all over the world.

Pets

Cat

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Bikes for use
  • Laundry
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Gym at home
  • Non Smoking
  • Air Conditioning

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 4 nights

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Available for given dates

The Lovely Little Room
From $30 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is a lovely little room. It is just 3.2m x 2.5m but it is cute and comfy. It is only suitable for 1 person.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Radio
 1 guest
Nightly Price
$38
Weekly Price
$239
Monthly price
$912
The Family Room
From $41 per night
Family Room
Sleeps 4

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
2 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

1 double bed & 1 double loft bed. Chairs to relax in, small wardrobe, large desk, shelves etc. New mattresses, big radiator for the cooler months. Ceiling fan for summer. Oversized doonas so couples don't end up fighting for coverage or wake up cold.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Fridge
  • Hair-dryer
  • Radio
 1 guest
2+ Guests
Nightly Price
$51
$77
Weekly Price
$323
$359
Monthly price
$1,231
$1,368
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our home is in the vibrant inner city of Brunswick, more musicians live in Brunswick than in any other Melbourne suburb. The famous Sydney Road is an 8min walk away with eateries from the widest range of cultures, some of Melbourne's best coffee shops are a short walk or bike ride from our place. We have buses, trains and two tram lines close by. Two great libraries, close to Melbourne University, RMIT Brunswick and just a quick commute to Vic Uni and the city. We love living here.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Swimming
  • Beach
  • Library
  • Museum
  • Shopping Centre
  • Health club
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

Feel free to use the kitchen, just be sure to clean up after. One of the kids is severely anaphylactic to some foods, please feel free to cook with any ingredients in our home, just be particular about cleaning them up afterwards.

Be careful to lock the doors. Use the back door between the hours of 7pm and 7.30am, the kids will be in bed.

We love having company and we also will respect your privacy.

Smoking is not allowed.

16 Reviews

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Switzerland
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    February 2019

    I've had such a wonderful time in Melbourne while staying with Kathryn. She is such an amazing, open-minded and friendly person with lots of energy and her two kids are so lovely. They made me feel at home right away and gave me lots of advice on what to explore and where to go in and around Melbourne. I was so sad to say goodbye to all of them on my last day.
    Kathryns home is very confortable, has everything you need, and ist only 20 minutes away from the city center.
    Thanks again Kathryn for hosting me during my two months stay in Melbourne! I will never forget you and your lovely family! Loved it! 5*****

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8yntezmde zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  d78f094246ec20c7500cbd748722dac411909605&style=small

    Turkey
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    February 2019

    Kathryn was the most energetic person I've ever seen, she is a kind, understanding aand fun to be around! It was an enjoyable experience for me in Melbourne with her!

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8yndg5nzm zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  0947820f4770d9e549fa97bee2f29e994bc76490&style=small

    Italy
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    January 2019

    Everything was perfect, very nice stay, best location in Melbourne!

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussimz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci83ode0nt9lehbpcmvzx2lubjsavekidhb1cnbvc2ugowbussimzgvmyxvsday7afrjig9lehbpcmvzx2f0bjsavda%3d  b5e5e240f49e824c3c5abeafe8f05ff2e83b45e9&style=small

    South Korea
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    August 2018

    We were very sad to say goodbye to Kathryn and her lovely kids. Her two children are respectful and polite, Kathryn is very kind and helped me a lot, and they taught me English because I'm learning English. I could use her seasonings which were good quality and her washing machine anytime.
    The room was perfect for me and my two children, clean and bright.
    We miss the family and hope to see them in the near future.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ymtgyody zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  64bdb097cc1e47aee88625ea3df5ad44f82a6489&style=small

    Australia
    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    July 2018

    Kathryn was lovely and even shopped for me when I wasn't feeling well.
    I was able to cook meals. The house was very handy to everything I required.
    Would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Thailand
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    May 2018

    This guest awarded the host 5 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Taiwan
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    May 2017

    Kathryn is a wonderful home mom. I definitely have a fantastic experience in her house. Everyone coming to Australia could spend some days at her home if you want to live in Brunswick.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussimz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci82otu0mz9lehbpcmvzx2lubjsavekidhb1cnbvc2ugowbussimzgvmyxvsday7afrjig9lehbpcmvzx2f0bjsavda%3d  d1a4bc05991bdf4c34b91d504a8d3f2eee9a4e3b&style=small

    United Kingdom
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    March 2017

    We had the most fantastic time staying with Kathryn and her wonderful family! It was so homely and comfortable and Kathryn was always on hand to offer advice on places to eat and where to visit! The kids are amazing and a pleasure to have around! The house is in a great location for the city and all transport links and you couldn't ask for anything more! Thank you so much Kathryn for making our stay feel like we were part of your family and for making it such a special experience!

    Read more »

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Ethiopia
    Age 25 - 34

    4 hearts
    January 2017

    Stayed here for a week, really enjoyed, great accommodation. Home owner Kathryn is really friendly and cool.

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Chile
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    November 2016

    Awesome experience! Very kind host and comfortable room. Definitely recommended!

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies