About the Homestay

Urban Arty
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

Our home is very centrally located; it is 5 minutes from the Coxwell Subway so getting anywhere is very easy. Toronto can be hard to get around, but from here, it is very easy. I am within 5 minutes drive of both major highways too!

The house was recently beautifully renovated; it is spectacular, super clean, and very comfortable!

We have two bedrooms available in the main house (Gardenview and Reconciliation Rooms) and a fully functioning apartment that is separate from the main house. Gardenview has a 3/4 bed and a pull-out couch with a beautiful view of the backyard garden, and Reconciliation has a comfortable double bed, ideal for two.

The apartment is suitable for a small family or a couple. It is beautifully and secluded and very large, with an ensuite bathroom, central air, heat, and an electric fireplace.

I own this house but my close friend Emelie manages and lives there. She is the host, but is not a tour guide. She can offer advice, but she works and is a full-time student so her time is precious.

There is a large collection of vintage DVDs and CDs and musical instruments including a grand piano that can be played or watched as well as thousands of novels, books on history, art, music, and philosophy.

The main house has a fully stocked kitchen and you are welcome to cook there and use the living room and dining area, as well as the outdoor patio (weather permitting).

The separate apartment also has an outdoor sitting area in the front of the house. There are two parking spots for your use at the back of the property.

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Non Smoking
  • Air Conditioning

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 1 night

Maximum stay is for 29 nights

Check-in date must be before 29 Apr 2023

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
Garden view room
From $35 per night
Twin Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Single, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Large room on 2nd floor decorated in Tuscan style, huge window overlooking garden, bar fridge, Lock for privacy, built-in closet, & clothes storage, pull-out desk & comfy chair, pull-out couch comfy as bed and couch, washroom outside the door

Facilities
  • TV
  • Air Conditioning
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
  • Radio
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$40
$60
Weekly Price
$250
$350
Reconciliation Room
From $35 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

A large room with a deep closet and a comfortable double bed. It is suitable for 1 or 2. Themed for my Indigenous (Cree) heritage, with details and books that pay tribute to this.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • TV
  • Air Conditioning
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$40
$60
Weekly Price
$250
$350
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our house is located in a quiet neighborhood filled with actors and musicians. There are four grand pianos within a one block radius, and the community is very vibrant and fun. Many young families live here. It is very close to the Coxwell subway, and so it is a short distance on transit to the train station, the bus station, and the airport(s). It is also close to two major arteries (the Gardiner and the Don Valley Parkway. Tons of great restaurants of every imaginable kind of cuisine, a gym steps away, shopping everywhere (on the Danforth), a hospital a few blocks away. And it is 15 minutes drive from downtown

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Beach
  • Shopping Centre
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

I need to have enough time to plan for your stay, so please allow me 24 hours to finalize your booking.

At the moment I am only offering the Gardenview Room but will be offering a second room soon. Emelie, a young woman, is the host. She is a student at a local college and is very accommodating. She lives there, but will leave you to your own devices unless you want her to be involved.

Payment is required upon arrival. There is a $40 cleaning fee added to your fee, payable upon arrival. You can pay by cash or email transfer, or Paypal. Please be considerate of other guests, and clean up after yourself. Otherwise, enjoy!
I need to prepare the room for the next guest, so please let me know when you will be checking out. I am, flexible but I want to know please.

Smoking is not allowed.

30 Reviews

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    France
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    January 2023

    The location is perfect, the room was very clean and comfortable! Alexander was very kind and Emily was such a lovely host! Thank's so much again!

  • Alm5wu1pstlcsm hnepnrxzxx4pb38rwc0xrhogm3qf9=s96 c

    Turkey
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    January 2023

    I had such fun staying at this home. The fact that the house is 5 minutes away from the subway is very convenient.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zndixmjg zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  271d8115ba569d6ae79230d97467255cd05319b1&style=small

    Hong Kong
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    November 2022

    Alexander is a great host, he even showed me how to get to his house from the airport. Also, the house is very convenient, right next to the subway station, there are restaurants and bars, I had a good week here.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zmdexmzk zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  2dba227473ddfe5a7f8522a182796c2849d3257b&style=small

    Canada
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    October 2020

    Great host!
    Great location!
    Had a fantastic month!

  • Aaue7ma43i8ofjo0kqirrxoip8gltl5vrrdzl1f u kl

    Spain
    Age 35 - 44

    Automated Post
    May 2020

    The host cancelled the booking 83 days before the arrival date.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    France
    Age 35 - 44

    Automated Post
    August 2019

    The host cancelled the booking 21 days before the arrival date.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    France
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    July 2019

    Alexander was very helpful and you can see he's used to welcome new hosts all the time.
    The house is really close to the Subway station Coxwell, which is very convenient Thank you so much Alex !

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ynzq2nja zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  f4818ccd33888d0e63e28f2564308853593c786f&style=small

    Canada
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    July 2019

    Alexander is an amazing host! He is cultured, eloquent, knowledgeable, courteous and very hospitable. My son and I had a wonderful and memorable stay at his home and we would definitely come back! We recommend Alexander very highly!

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ynzmwodm zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  adebfb3d0e81374ac09f71ed06cf8aa28074d5ab&style=small

    France
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    July 2019

    Alexander is very well organised and super welcoming. We felt right at home, it was like staying at a friend’s. The location is very convenient, with many nice bars and restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay there again if back in Toronto.

  • Photo

    Japan
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    July 2019

    Alex is a exceptionally great host. Friendly, kind, and helpful. One of the nicest things is his rapid responses. Japan and Toronto are located in extremely different time zones. However, he responded me very quickly. It helped me decide how I shall do there. This characteristic was consistent throughout the stay.
    House is clean, neat and tidy. I had almost no troubles there. Very clear to understand, simple to use.
    40min from downtown was a thing but still I’m quite sure it’s worth.
    Thank you very much anyway.

    Read more »

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies