Experienced and well grounded famil

Homestay in North Vancouver - Vancouver, Canada

About the Homestay

Urban Spacious
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

We live in a very clean, friendly and safe neighbourhood in North Vancouver close to Grouse Mountain and other ski resorts,walking trails, biking routes, Capilano Bridge, Lynn Canyon Park and bridge,etc. at the same time about 10 minutes away from downtown Vancouver by car and about 30 minutes by bus. There are 2 bus stops to downtown Vancouver just outside the house. Parking is on the street outside the home and also parking in driveway for 1 car.
If a guest stays for 7 days or more then laundry (once a week) is provided free. If the guest stay is less than a week then laundry is provided at a small charge.

Additional Info

There guidelines on room doors

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Parking
  • Internet Access
  • Non Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 1 night

Maximum stay is for 40 nights

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
Single room
From $32 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This room is north facing on the same level ie. basement (north facing) with wifi , desk and lamp and closet. This room IS NOT AVAILABLE AT THE PRESENT TIME, till further notice. Thank you.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
 1 guest
Nightly Price
$40
Weekly Price
$250
Monthly price
$960
Room 3
From $32 per night
Twin Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
2 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is a large double bedroom for 1 person or for a couple. It is south facing with a great view of the garden. It has a small fridge and a desk with lamp. It can also accommodate another person with a sleeping bag at an extra cost of $35.00 per night.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Fridge
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$50
$80
Weekly Price
$300
$400
Monthly price
$975
$1,500
Deluxe room
From $33 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Room on top floor of house facing mountains, with desk, lamp and deluxe. For Single Person only. Faces north and view of gardens with lots of light, has a queen size bed and is a big, comfortable room.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
 1 guest
Nightly Price
$60
Weekly Price
$360
Monthly price
$1,000
Room 2
From $32 per night
Twin Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
2 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This room is west facing, with two desks and two single beds. This room is available for 1 or 2 guests. There is room for a third person for an extra $35.00 per night (sleeping bag ).

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$50
$80
Weekly Price
$300
$400
Monthly price
$975
$1,500
Room 1
From $32 per night
Twin Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
2 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

South facing large double room for 1 person, or for a couple, with wifi,desk and lamp. Great view of garden and lots of light. There is room for a third person but at an extra charge of $35.00/night. This room IS NOT AVAILABLE TILL August, 2022.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Fridge
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$50
$80
Weekly Price
$300
$400
Monthly price
$975
$1,500
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

in the district of North Vancouver, close to ski resorts, walking trails, bike routes, but also about 10 minutes from downtown Vancouver. There are 2 bus stops outside our home to downtown Vancouver.

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

Rules are normal family rules. No smokers, drug users, alcohol, noisy or party going people. Also respect and consideration for host family, fellow students, fellow guests and Canadian values. No friends , male or female, of guests allowed in the house or the room.

Smoking is not allowed.

57 Reviews

  • Aoh14gjpzpntexerdr asj4wilzy19gd2cm2m05uprxseq=s96 c

    Canada
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    June 2022

    I really enjoyed during a visit to Vancouver staying with this lovely family, the house is very big, clean and located in a very nice and quiet neighborhood

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Phil And Mehrshid in ,

    Thank you Maryam. We also thought that you were a lovely lady. You are welcome in our home anytime.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    India
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    June 2022

    Phil & Mehrshid have been absolutely wonderful hosts. They were kind & warm did so much for us. We went there as guests but returned as family! Can't wait to visit again.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Phil And Mehrshid in ,

    Thank you Dilnaaz and Khushi. We feel the same about you two. I hope you both are having a good time. You both and all your family and
    Friends are welcome to our home anytime.

  • Aatxajzsn6b65fnqkflpqjv5xiqucfbkixogu9mfwlvi=s96 c

    United Kingdom
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    May 2022

    The room was a good size and the bed comfortable. The hosts were nice but you must respect their privacy as there are other guests in the house. There is a private bathroom downstairs just for the ladies which is new and one for males with showers. The neighbourhood is very safe and pretty and lots to do a d transport links right outside the house. Overall this was a good experience

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Phil And Mehrshid in ,

    Thank you for your good review. We enjoyed your company. I hope the rest of your visit in Canada is a success and not troublesome for you. If you need our help in future we will be happy to help.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Canada
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    May 2022

    Thank you for two weeks!
    First of all, I was glad when I booked the homestay on this website because it happened system error and I couldn't pay for that. But Fhil encouraged me to work successfully and helped me a lot. Thank you for your kindness.
    While I was staying, I enjoyed talking with Mehrshid, she's so kind and I could stay comfortable.
    One thing I'd like to apologize for is that I couldn't follow the meal time rule perfectly. I always eat slowly so the 30 minites I was given was short and always exceed the time limit.
    Lastly, I'd like to leave a message to Japanese traveller:)
    日本人にこのメッセージを読んでもらえたら嬉しいです。
    やる事が多くて大変だと思うけど、
    めんどうみの良い御夫婦が迎えてくれて、
    とても充実した滞在ができました。
    けしきも素晴らしく、穏やかでした。
    お家のルールがあるので、そこを注意すれば快適に過ごせます。短期の滞在がちょうど良いかと思います。充実した滞在になることを願います!

    Read more »

  • Aatxajyd1gsdsrs7xcantsba4f08z4dgiklvztp 7asp=s96 c

    Germany
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    May 2022

    I had a very pleasant stay with Phil and Mehrshid. The house and rooms are very nice and you quickly feel at home. North Vancouver is a very nice area with great nature and parks.

    There are two things potential guests should be aware of:
    - it takes 45 minutes to get to downtown Vancouver (public transportation)
    - there are strict house rules that must be respected
    So party people who want to enjoy the big city life should rather look elsewhere.

    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Phil And Mehrshid in ,

    Thank you Andreas. Have a safe trip to Golden and enjoy your stay in Canada. We hope to see you in future. My house rules are like any house rule because this is a private home and not a hostel or hotel.

  • Aoh14ghsjulti03xvixarqegky9gj1mztvqe7djy xhh2q=s96 c

    Sri Lanka
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    May 2022

    I do not know how to start my story. I will say it like this. I am a student from sri lanka and this is my very first journey. When i arrived to canada i did know anything but, phil and mershid thaught everything to me from the beginning ( how to take the bus and take the compass card, open a bank account and all other stuff). I am glad to having you. You are like my family now. I am going to leave tomorrow and i will miss you and your worm and cozy room. I must say, if i have done something wrong i am really sorry. Best homestay ever. Last not the least i will miss you mershid you were very kind to me even you phill thank you very much.

    With full of
    Yasiru Randima .

    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Phil And Mehrshid in ,

    Yasiru, first of all let me remind you that you are a very well behaved, well mannered, respectful and polite young man. We wish you good luck in your future, studies and life. You are most welcome to come and visit us anytime.

  • Aatxajxhtwlmzxeyldbrmqukk1tj7trf eb2awuhb3as=s96 c

    India
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    April 2022

    We were there for 5 days and it was incredible.Phil and Mehrshid are so amazing people . I dont have words to explain how wonderful their hospitality was.It was like you are living with your own family.Phil and Mehrshid love you guys so much

    Phil: We are missing your tea
    Mehrshid: I cannot think of having persian rice anywhere else after we had your home made rice

    Stay and hospitality was beyond expectation. Sajjad we miss you too.

    Wonderful people
    Wonderful stay
    Great experience

    There is no limit of appreciation for you guys.

    Lots of love
    Iti and Bhuvnesh

    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Phil And Mehrshid in ,

    Thank you Bhuvnesh and ITI for your wonderful and heart felt review. All I can say is we feel exactly the same about you and ITI. We had a wonderful few days with both of you and you both are most welcome in our home at anytime. Miss you both. Lots of love. Phil and Mehrshid.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zmjeznzq zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  0b79d57cfd55fe309d61ea379dcb87a83b1346d3&style=small

    Thailand
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    April 2022

    The room/house was very nice and cozy. The hosts were really kind and helpful. They stay at home almost all the times so you can ask them any questions. They are very happy to help you. Personally, this is the best house I could ever asked for.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Phil And Mehrshid in ,

    Thank you Will. You are a very well behaved young man and also very polite. You are welcome in my home anytime in future. Good luck in your future and we hope to see you sometime in Thailand.

  • Aoh14gh0uawinrfylubguqrvepnksazp0manqyoopvsypq=s96 c

    Canada
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    April 2022

    Phil and Mehrshid are very nice smart knowledgeable hosts they provide privacy and bed was comfortable fast wifi any questions you have they are not short with you and always willing lend helping hand I would recommend their homestay

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Phil And Mehrshid in ,

    Thank you Headley. I hope you are doing well and are comfortable. Please be in touch.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xmzyymjg zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  e73653345d6c22858a5533baf95a3f6084bd1c3c&style=small

    Italy
    Age 35 - 44

    1 heart
    March 2022

    I state that I have already been to this homestay in the summer and for the price I paid it was not terrible, but this time I have to say it was really terrible. Let's start with the general cleaning of the room but above all of the bathroom, where the toilet was in a pitiful condition, pubic hair and urine of a few days stuck all around, in 7 days it was never cleaned, the smell in the room and of the sheets of the bed was really sickening, smelled like mold. Last but not least, when I wrote to crack the Internet password, I was told that it would only give it to me when I was home, probably to enter it directly him in order not to give you the opportunity to see and share it, I forgot the most important thing, for a few days I found the door to the room open and clear signs that someone had entered the room, because yes there is no way to have privacy and to be able to lock the door, I think the invasion of privacy is a really important thing!

    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Phil And Mehrshid in ,

    Thank you for your review. You had stayed in our home in the summer of 2021 and this was your second visit. Let me remind you that this is a private home and not a 5 star hotel where you would pay anywhere between $150.00 to $300.00 per night. Your room was cleaned and sanitised with fresh bed sheets and pillow covers before your visit. The window was also opened for fresh air.The bathroom is a mens only bathroom. The ladies have a separate bathroom. There were only two gentleman staying in our house at the time. Also there is a toilet brush and disinfectant for your use in the bathroom. The bathrooms are cleaned and disinfected regularly and the windows are opened for fresh air daily. Your paragraph “Really rude owner——————- pay the fees on the website” doesn’t make any sense. Maybe you need to improve your English. I do not pay any fees to Homestay. The guest pays a booking fee. The internet is included in the price of your stay. I do not give my WiFi password over the phone. If you had asked when you arrived and if I had ever seen you in the seven days I would have given it to you. My wife and I do enter the bedrooms to clear any trash, to make sure that there are no bad electrical connections, for fire, and also to open the windows for fresh air. There are no locks on any of the rooms in my home, except the bathrooms. In the past 35 years of hosting international students and guests there has never been any stealing and items missing in my home. This is a private home. I did greet you at the front door when you arrived like a friend. You will not have the hospitality offered to you again and you are not welcome in my home.

    Read more »

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies