About the Homestay

Suburban Cosy
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

I live with Taffy, my clever border terrier, in a comfortable spacious three bedroomed home. I have a peaceful light filled home in a great suburb of Dublin. Located 10 mins from the sea, in south county Dublin the house offers peace and tranquility from the bustle of the city. There is a good sized double bedroom overlooking the garden with shared bathroom. The house is recently refurbished and decorated to a high standard. I work four days a week and enjoy the outdoors, theatre and festivals. I have travelled extensively and enjoy meeting people from other cultures.

Payment Policy:

Cancellation Policy:

Pets

Dog

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Parking
  • Internet Access
  • Non Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 7 nights

Maximum stay is for 90 nights

Available for given dates

Back room
From 30 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This room is large and airy, overlooking a leafy rear garden and with a view of the sea in the distance. It is quiet, comfortable and peaceful

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Mirror
 1 guest
Weekly Price
230
Monthly price
920
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

My house is located in a leafy suburb, one mile from the town of Dunlaoghaire and a ten minute walk from the sea. It is close to beautiful amenities in Dalkey and Killiney Hill. It is a safe area with families and older people living in the estate, a secluded place with established homes and beautiful gardens. I live an 8 minute walk from the DART station, which brings you to the city centre in little over 20 mins. There are bus stops five minutes away for a variety of destinations. A great selection of restaurants bars and shops are nearby and the beautiful village of Dalkey is a walk away.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Beach
  • Shopping Centre
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

Room is only available to the one guest who has made payment for room. No visitors allowed.
No eating in upstairs rooms

Smoking is not allowed.

10 Reviews

  • Photo

    Egypt
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    November 2019

    I enjoyed every minute of my stay. She made me feel home and with family. She is a generous kind person and I hope we remain friends forever.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Siobhan in ,

    It was good to host Noha who is so enthusiastic & committed to environmental issues. She was a great guest and I am missing her great cooking skills now.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Spain
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    August 2019

    It was great staying in Siobhan's house. The area is very nice, quite close to Dun Laoghaire. Siobhan is a great person, she made me feel very comfortable at her home, she also showed me the area and explained me interesting history of the place. I really recommend it, Thank you very much Siobhan!!

  • 1549324231 original

    Spain
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    March 2019

    Dear Siobhan, thank you very much for a great time . You made me feel very welcome in your home. I enjoyed the company of both yourself and tuffy . I also enjoyed our conversations and listening to your experiences and stories during our meals together. Thanks for all!

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Siobhan in ,

    Joan, Thank you for your kind words. I enjoyed meeting you and you were a lovely guest to have in the house. Thank you for the Paella and now I know a lot more about Catalonia. Best wishes for the future.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    South Africa
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    July 2018

    This guest awarded the host 5 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

  • 1487175313 original

    Germany
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    September 2017

    Spend beautiful three months with Siobhan and Taffy in the south of Dublin.

    Siobhan directly made me feel welcome and was helpful in every kind of problem.
    The room has a lovely view and offers enough space to live there a longer time. The house is located in a beautiful quiet area just a short walk away from the sea and the lovely town centre of Dalkey. The DART (train) is just a 10min walk away which is probably the best way to get around in Dublin.

    If I come back to Dublin I definitely stay again with Siobhan.

    Thank you very much Siobhan for the lovely stay!

    Read more »

  • 1484847249 original

    Canada
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    March 2017

    I had a really nice time staying with Siobhan, the choice I made to stay with her in her lovely home exceeded my expectations. My room was lovely as was the whole house and a beautiful garden. Taffi her little dog was a delight. Siobhan treated me like family and I made a new friend. We shared some time together too and had fun getting to know each other a little. I would certainly love to stay with Siobhan and Taffi again. The area is very close to some of the best scenery and close to the ocean. Thank you Siobhan for a lovely stay. Philomena

    Read more »

  • 1563830340 original

    United States
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    August 2016

    Siobhan was very welcoming and hospitable. Room cheerful and bed comfortable. Breakfast delicious. Although I was only in the Dublin region a short time, she invited me to come along to walk her dog in a park where there is a beautiful Irish coastline view from a bluff. She also graciously picked me up and dropped me off at the train station a couple times. The walk to/from the train station is about 10 minutes and a very easy walk. Nice neighborhood. I enjoyed my stay enough that I stayed one more day on my return trip to Dublin before flying out of Ireland. If I am able to return to Dublin for a longer time period, I would contact Siobhan first to see if she would have a place to stay and take more time to visit and enjoy the area in which she lives. My deepest appreciation to Siobhan for opening home for a homestay.

    Read more »

  • 1472548184 original

    Hong Kong
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    July 2016

    Siobhan is very nice host and she provides nice room. If going to Ireland again, will stay in her home again.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Germany

    5 hearts
    June 2016

    I stayed for 3 weeks in Dublin.
    Siobhan is amazing and she really made me feeling at home. She is so available, flexible, welcoming, friendly, keen to spend time with me talking, eating, watching TV etc. .
    The location is excellent, 10 min to the train and the sea.
    The house is lovely, with a cute little garden and a nice room.
    Very clean place, peaceful, I slept like a baby :-) .
    She is absolutely great, her little cute dog Taffy as well.
    She was my host but now she is like a friend for me!
    I definitely recommend and stay here for my future trips in Ireland.
    Thank you for everything Siobhan!

    Read more »

  • 1460909672 original

    France
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    May 2016

    It was the first time that I came in Ireland.
    I was very pleasantly surprised (I speak little English), to discover a country where people are extremely courteous and patient with foreigners.
    Dun Laoghaire is a peaceful and restful town, away from the bustle of central Dublin.
    Sobbian is very welcoming, the house is lovely, very tidy and very quiet.
    I recommend to all people who looking for a relaxing accommodation, at a very reasonable price.
    Thank you Sobbian.

    Read more »

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies