About the Homestay

  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

I live in Rathfarnham in South Dublin with my two children aged 8 and 9. This safe, leafy Dublin suburb is located on the foothills of the Dublin mountains and surrounded by many splendid parks, yet the city centre is only a short bus ride away.
We are a very welcoming family. My children are very friendly and enjoy meeting new people. The house itself is clean, warm and comfortable and offers all modern conveniences.
I enjoy baking, particularly when there are guests to bake for! So you can expect some tasty treats from time to time.

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Computer
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Non Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 4 nights

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Check-in date must be before 13 Oct 2020

Available for given dates

Double room
From 26 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is a double room on the ground floor overlooking the garden.

Facilities
  • TV
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
30
50
Weekly Price
200
330
Monthly price
800
900
1st floor double room
From 26 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is a double dormer room located next to the main bathroom and overlooking the garden.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
 1 guest
Nightly Price
50
Weekly Price
250
Monthly price
800
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our house is located in Rathfarnham, Dublin 16. There are numerous shops, pubs and restaurants all within walking distance and the award winning dundrum shopping centre is less than 4 km away. Rathfarnham is home to numerous parks including marlay park, which hosts a weekend market and many events throughout the year including outdoor concerts and entertainment.
Rathfarnham is close to the mountains where there are many beautiful places to walk and explore including tibradden woods, mount Venus and glencree. The beaches of Dalkey and killiney and the famous dunlaoghaire pier are just a half hour drive from here and the city centre is just 8 km away. With a bus stop only minutes walk from the house the area is well serviced by Dublin bus.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Bowling
  • Beach
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Museum
  • Shopping Centre
  • Horse Stables
  • Water sports
  • Sports arena
  • Health club
  • Fishing
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Full Breakfast

House Rules

Keep noise levels to a minimum in the late evening and early morning. Quiet time is from 10pm to 7am.
You are welcome to use kitchen facilities at any time but please clean up after yourself. Please note that there is very limited storage space for food.
Please keep your accommodation clean and tidy.
Please keep the house secure, lock the doors and put on the alarm when you go out.
Please do not adjust the heat settings yourself, ask and I will happily do it for you.
Please do not invite visitors into our home. If you would like to invite a friend over just agree with it me in advance.
Enjoy your stay with us and treat our home as you would your own!

Smoking is not allowed.

6 Reviews

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8yotexotm zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  22eb579aacaaa210cd178f074d902db083df0247&style=small

    Switzerland
    Age 25 - 34

    3 hearts
    December 2019

    We (young couple, Swiss) stayed in the ground floor double room (next to the kitchen) from Sept-Dec 19 for an exchange semester. The following points are our personal views. Please note that some negative points listed below might be due to cultural differences.

    Things we liked:
    -Safe + quiet neighbourhood
    -Comfortable and big bed
    -Quiet at night
    -Bright room
    -Easy going, friendly host
    -Becky gave us lots of information (bus service, what to do and see)
    -Becky helped with getting a job in Dublin.
    -2 bus stops in 5 and 10 min. walking distance
    -Bus service every 15min during daytime (except Sunday every 30min)
    -2 grocery stores within 15 and 30min walking distance.
    -A big kitchen cabinet for food storage.
    -We had the opportunity to do a laundry twice a week.

    Things you need to know before booking:
    -It's a lively family. Therefore, there were quite a lot of loud situations.
    -The house could be cleaner (kitchen, toilet seats, floor). It's rather cool during winter.
    -The room is very small for 2 (max. 80cm around the bed).
    -Very limited space to hang up the laundry.
    -Small desk (not bigger than an A3 sheet).
    -Cannot sit on desk without climbing over the bed to sit on the chair.
    -We never used the living room as it is the family's retreat.
    -The kitchen is not big enough that the host family and the guests can cook and eat at the same time.
    -Bus to City Centre (Dame St, Temple Bar) takes between 25min (weekend morning) and 80min (weekdays rushhour).

    In conclusion, we had a great time in Dublin. However, one need to be aware of the points mentioned above.

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ynjy5nde zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  96be08cdd5f52e3663d61f6b2dd49aa0c7b0273e&style=small

    Spain
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    July 2019

    Becky ha sido una fantástica anfitriona, de 10. Mi madre y mi hija han estado muy a gusto. Los niños encantadores. Becky cocina de maravilla y vale la pena pactar con ella la media pension. Totalmente recomendable. Thank you Becky for taking care of my family!.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Nigeria
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    August 2016

    This guest awarded the host 5 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussimz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci84mjcwot9lehbpcmvzx2lubjsavekidhb1cnbvc2ugowbussimzgvmyxvsday7afrjig9lehbpcmvzx2f0bjsavda%3d  de8026410e5615f6453c5fa29c815a522d73b4ab&style=small

    Netherlands
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    July 2016

    I had an amazing experience in Dublin and that is mostly because Becky and her two boys made me feel so at home there. I actually didn't want to leave, they are my Dublin-family now.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussimz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci83nty0nz9lehbpcmvzx2lubjsavekidhb1cnbvc2ugowbussimzgvmyxvsday7afrjig9lehbpcmvzx2f0bjsavda%3d  47b606546d4bfc8fd6a6b260e8c4edb3384169c7&style=small

    Sweden
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    March 2016

    Rebecca and her two kids were an absolute pleasure to stay with! Communication was easy, transport convenient, and the location overall great. Rebecca herself is super sweet, sharing stories and tips about various things. Breakfast was lovely, and the room itself was great! Super comfy bed. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Germany
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    March 2016

    I had a great time while staying at Rebecca's house! She was always friendly and very helpful. Everything was really uncomplicated, so that I do not need much time to feel like being at my home in Germany. Thanks for the great experience!

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies