About the Homestay

  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

Our home is a 3 bedroom end terrace house in the suburbs of Edinburgh. We are in an excellent location for travel links into town. It is a 15 minute walk to Napier University Sighthill Campus, a 30 minute walk to the Napier Craiglockhart campus, 15 minutes on the bus to Herriot Watt University, and 30 minutes on the bus into the centre of town and the University of Edinburgh.

In our family there is myself, my husband Rob, and our two children Callum (22) and Rhona (20). Callum has just finished a maths degree at the University of Edinburgh and is going travelling to Canada for a year, hence we have a spare room. Rhona is in her final year at the University of Edinburgh studying biology. We are a sports mad family, and particularly love rugby. My husband and I go to all the Edinburgh rugby home matches and Rhona plays.

We have had many students before over the years, some of which we are still in contact with. We like to make everybody feel welcome in our home, and students are always invited to join us at the rugby matches! If you have any questions about our home, the area or Edinburgh, please don't hesitate to ask.

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Parking
  • Internet Access

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 1 night

Maximum stay is for 60 nights

Available for given dates

Spare room
From £16 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates
Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • TV
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
 1 guest
Nightly Price
£20
Weekly Price
£126
Monthly price
£480
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

We are on the North side of Edinburgh in a quiet suburb. The transport links into town are excellent, with buses running every few minutes right on our doorstep. We are close by to several large supermarkets, a sports complex, and many gyms.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Beach
  • Shopping Centre
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals will incur an additional cost. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

Smoking is not allowed.

5 Reviews

  • 1528124416 original

    Scotland
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    November 2018

    Lea’s family is a warm family. She did her best to welcome me as a Scottish host in Edinburgh. Her room well prepared for my arrivals was clean, tidy and comfortable. Her house is situated right in the main transport routes into the City Centre and to the Airport too. I must also say the price is totally worth it. If you are a nice guest, she may let you prepare some quick and clean food for the day. I’m a working British Citizen in Hong Kong. From time to time, me and my wife would have to visit Edinburgh for holidays and checking on my son who studies here. If she would allow, we would like to choose her as our host again! A wonderful experience.

    Read more »

  • 1529269089 original

    Germany
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    October 2018

    It is absolutely the best host family you can find: open minded, friendly and helpful. The house is comepletely clean and I had loads of space for my stuff in the kitchen. My room was bright and cosy and it was furnished with all the things you need (big cupboard, comfortable bed, desk, chair, a little drying rack).
    Will definitely stay in touch with Lea and Rob as I really enjoyed my 2 month with them. Thank you for everything my lovely host family. Will definitely see you again. x

    Read more »

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    France
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    July 2018

    Hébergement propre et confortable, famille chaleureuse et très empathique, un très bon moment passé avec Léa, Robert et Rhona.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Russia
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    May 2018

    The house is great, the room is clean and tidy. We have been living there for 4 months. Lea’s family is friendly, they always helped us, gave advice and we could chat in the evening. We will never forget lea weekend’s breakfasts. So delicious!) thank you very very much for you hospitality!

  • 1503491934 original

    Sweden
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    December 2017

    I warmly recommend Lea as host. The family is very welcoming, helpful and I really enjoyed my stay from the day I arrived. The location is perfect for studies at Napier University as well as its easy access to city centre.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies