About the Homestay

Suburban Spacious
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

I am from the beautiful city of Cape Town, South Africa. I am an English and PE teacher. I have taught English as a Foreign Language abroad in 2007-2009.
I facilitated,assessed and mentored in the Wholesale and Retail Sector under the Governing Body of SETA.
I have a daughter who is married and a son who enjoys meeting people from different cultures. My daughter is in the Middle East teaching English and my son completed his studies in IS. We live in a 5 -bedroomed house, of which 3 rooms are vacant. The rooms are bigger than a standard double bedroom, with one having an en-suite and balcony. There is a huge tv room, lounge, dining room and kitchen. Parking is available on the secured premises. Private transport can also be arranged on request as well as Garden Route tour packages to suit any pocket.
For those wanting Oral Health Care, the following could be arranged:
Orthodontics, Endodontics, Implantology, Dental Laser therapy and any other dental care.

Pets

Cat

House Facilities
  • Computer
  • Games Room
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Non Smoking
  • Allow Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 6 nights

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
Bedroom 2
From $23 per night
Twin Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
2 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Large double spacious room. 2 beds, desk, double cupboard

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Closet / Wardrobe
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$28
$32
Weekly Price
$181
$201
Monthly price
$691
$768
Bedroom 3
From $27 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$34
$38
Weekly Price
$215
$239
Monthly price
$820
$912
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Public transport is easy to find, however if you wanting private transport (including driver), it can be arranged. The busy shopping suburb is a 10 min drive away (depending on traffic). There is a smaller mall (Kenilworth Centre) , situated almost on the doorstep. Kenwyn is very central to get to all areas of Cape Town.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Golf
  • Bowling
  • Beach
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Shopping Centre
  • Amusement Park
  • Sports arena
  • Health club
  • Fishing
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

No smoking in the house.
Keep rooms tidy
Good understanding
Be responsible
Breakfast daily, however, if you would like to join us for traditional dinners , you are most welcome at a minimal cost .
Laundry will be done at a cost of 8 euros a load.

Smoking is allowed outdoors only.

5 Reviews

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xmjaxmzq zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  7d46c0c483dfeb2f6b2115017fd7d793ec5213e1&style=small

    Sweden
    Age 55 - 64

    4 hearts
    March 2018

    This guest awarded the host 4 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Shafeekah in ,

    Thank you Stefan. Hope u had a great stay....see u soon

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xndu3mjy zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  92da63c1f6b6432a61a4a8bdd0597e802a0ecc82&style=small

    United Kingdom
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    June 2017

    This was my first experience with homestay so I was apprehensive to stay with a family whom I did not know at all, half way across the world. However, I am so pleased that I did. Shafeekah and her family went out of their way to accommodate for me and make me feel comfortable. After just 12 days, I left feeling like a member of the family. I am very grateful to this family for helping me in every way possible to make my stay a memorable one; they even went sightseeing with me! If I ever get the chance to return to SA, I would do it all again. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xmte3njc zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  310fc635bc60415b206ce089ab8c439c0df9cef0&style=small

    Mozambique
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    November 2016

    Hi
    My name is Nuria Monjane. I am Mozambican .
    I loved my trip on Cape Town and also the experience to be part of Shafeekah’s family.
    Shafeekah was a real mother cause she treated me like a daughter and made me feel like I was at home.
    One of the things that I appreciated the most is that whenever I got home, she used to ask how had my day been. Oh I liked this kind of attention.
    Futhermore she prepared delicious sandwiches (I know she still does) to take to school as a lunch pail and some dishes without chilli (Lol).

    Thank you for the time that your family devoted to me and memories too.

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xmda5mtg zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  99b846da106aad4b135b9a92c39438a44b60f22f&style=small

    Saudi Arabia

    5 hearts
    July 2016

    nice family , beautiful house
    I advice any one came here to study
    Book shafeekah house

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussilz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci83oti4p2v4cglyzxnfaw4gowbussimchvycg9zzqy7afrjigxkzwzhdwx0bjsavekid2v4cglyzxnfyxqgowbuma%3d%3d  19053a738c08f73313dd2d61940df6e9ffec29c8&style=small


    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    July 2015

    If you are looking for a real South African experience with warmt and sincerity this is the place. Spent a whole month in this household, full with love and it was fabulous. Will mos def go back again. Lovely family and lovely delicious food! Shafeekah is the perfect host for first timers and everyone else!

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies