About the Homestay

Semi Rural Modern
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

My home is in a quiet area of the ancient town of Abingdon, on the River Thames, with its attractive and historic buildings mingling with a thriving , modern market town Only 8 miles from Oxford, which requires no introduction.
Transport facilities are excellent in the area, with regular bus services to Oxford or Didcot for trains to London, just a one hour journey.
I rent out two bedrooms, one twin with its own adjacent bathroom, and one double with ensuite. There is also a small snug, where you can relax or work, though you are welcome to use the main lounge with TV.
There is a small but attractive south facing garden.
I am a retired, but very active ( golf-playing) widow, with family living close by, so have grandchildren popping in from time to time.
I speak passable French. and enjoy doing so. I love cooking so will be happy to offer an evening meal by arrangement - all diets catered for. A substantial Continental breakfast is included in the price (home made jams and marmalades) but a full English can be arranged at extra cost.

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Non Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 2 nights

Maximum stay is for 29 nights

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

Twin Bedroom
From £21 per night
Twin Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom private (exclusive to guest)
2 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

First floor South facing room. Towels and toiletries provided

  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
Weekly Price
Double Bedroom (2 guests only)
From £31 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom ensuite (within room)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Please note I only let this room out for couples. For single people please check out my twin bedroom. Towels and toiletries provided

  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
Weekly Price
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

The house is only 15 mins walk from the town centre, in a quiet close. there is a stop for the bus route between Oxford and Didcot only 5 minutes walk away, with plenty more routes from the town centre, and less than ten minutes walk into open country.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Shopping Centre
  • Bus Stop
  • Hospital


Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Full Breakfast
  • Half Board
Diet Type available on request
  • Vegetarian
  • Vegan
  • Coeliac
  • Diabetic
  • Lactose Intolerant
  • Nut Allergies

House Rules

I only allow smoking outside.
Please keep noise down late in the evening.
Your guests are welcome but only by arrangement.

Smoking is not allowed.

3 Reviews

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zmzmxnjk zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  91660a8b205fe8624520f5e8fddc7948ac99635e&style=small

    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    September 2022

    Patricia is an excellent host with a golden heart. She welcomed us beyond my wildest imagination. We were very pleased to confirm that we highly recommend her house. Many thanks Pat

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    April 2022

    Lovely stay nice and quiet very comfortable

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    United Kingdom
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    February 2022

    Pat is a lovely host who welcomed us warmly, making us feel very well looked after. The house is very clean and tidy and the facilities provided are excellent, the stay here is undoubtedly worth your money and during the time spent here we felt very safe.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies