About the Homestay

  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

I am happy to offer either just bed and breakfast for people who want to be out and about visiting beautiful Bath (and/or the surrounding areas) or a family setting where we share diner and discussions in the evenings and time together at weekends.

My home is a traditional Victorian miner's terraced house located on a hill in beautiful rural setting of Peasedown St John. Peasedown St John benefits from an excellent bus service (every 20 minutes) to the centre of Bath or Radstock. The journey to Bath takes approximately 20 minutes.
Timetables for buses can be found on FirstGroup website http://www.firstgroup.com
My home is located 5-10 minutes up a hill walking distance from a bus stop.

If you travel with your own car, parking is on the hill.

There are plenty of walks with outstanding views of the open countryside in my village.

The house features two double bedrooms for homestay, a shared bathroom, a comfortable open plan living/dining room and a small kitchen, which can be used for self-catering if needed.

Double bedroom 1 has a king size bed, a mirror, a wardrobe, a desk and chair, a bedside lamp and an alarm clock/radio.

Double bedroom 2 has 1 double bed and a single mezzanine bed with low ceiling suitable for ages 8 to 12 years old. There is a mirror, a bedside lamp and an alarm clock/radio.

The hair dryer is shared with the rest of the family.

I am 50 and my interests are varied, most of all I love meeting people from different walks of life. I love socialising, listening to music, going to gigs and festivals and travelling. I speak English and French.

Finally, Peasedown St John offers good connection to Bath City Centre, Bristol and Wells. Lots of sight seeing areas (as well as Bath) within reaching distance but you would probably need a car: Cheddar, Glastonbury, Westbury White Horse, Bradford-On-Avon, Weston Super Mare Grand Pier.
Cardiff and London by train or coach, from Bath.
Tour trip to Stonehenge departing from Bath City Centre.

Additional Info

The room rate includes the following services: breakfast and internet access.
Bathroom towels can be provided for use, free of charge, on request.

Laundry and room cleaning free of charge at the host convenience, ie your host is happy to wash your laundry when she is planning a load for the family.

Additional available services at an extra charge (payable directly to your host on arrival):

Pick up service from Bristol Airport: 30.00 GBP
Packed Lunch: 3.00 GBP per person per day
Dinner: 5.00 GBP per person per night

Pets

Dog

House Facilities
  • Computer
  • Laundry
  • Pets Indoor
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Smoke alarm on each floor
  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • Non Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 1 night

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
Room 2
From £20 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Size: 9 m2 ( 96.9 ft2 )

Facilities
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
£20
£35
Room 1
From £25 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Size: 15 m2 ( 161.5 ft2 )

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
£25
£45
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our home is located in Peasedown St John, which is 10 km away from the centre of Bath. We can help you with transport details if you let us know how you will be arriving.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Fishing
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Full Breakfast
  • Half Board
  • Packed lunch
Diet Type available on request
  • Vegetarian
  • Lactose Intolerant

House Rules

Please keep our home secure and lock the front door when leaving the house and/or coming home if no-one else in the household is about or up.

Please do not adjust the heat settings yourself, ask me and I will happily do it for you.

Feel free to use the kitchen, please clean up after use.

Keep noise to a minimum after 10 pm and before 7 am please.

Please try to be discreet when going up and down the stairs after 10pm and before 7am.

Please do not invite strangers into our home; if you would like to invite a friend over just agree it with me in advance.

Although I am a non-smoker, you are more than welcome to smoke outside.

Please enjoy your stay and treat our house as you would your own home!

Smoking is not allowed.

18 Reviews

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    India
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    August 2018

    Caroline was very helpful and we really enjoyed our time with her.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    United States
    Age 75+

    5 hearts
    June 2018

    We thoroughly enjoyed our three days with Caroline. We instantly connected with her, and she went out of her way to make us feel at home and part of the family. We stood in the kitchen while she cooked us wonderful meals, we laughed, told stories and went on small adventures. Caroline's and our lives intertwined during our stay. We would recommend staying with her to anyone.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussimz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci80nzgwnd9lehbpcmvzx2lubjsavekidhb1cnbvc2ugowbussimzgvmyxvsday7afrjig9lehbpcmvzx2f0bjsavda%3d  5f8aeb3b750f694e3bf30ce3caae41232ef9c3f1&style=small

    Canada
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    August 2017

    Caroline was a fantastic host! We enjoyed our visit very much. Hope to come again one day.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Italy
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    August 2017

    This guest awarded the host 5 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xodeymdi zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  99d978b43f8c727cb22dcdd2076e9fe9df886479&style=small

    England
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    July 2017

    Friendly smiling happy welcome from Caroline. Nothing was too much trouble. Bedroom was clean. Double bed was comfortable. Towel provided.
    Help yourself to breakfast in the morning.
    Quiet location with stunning views over the countryside. It is on a hill so be aware particularly for parking which was interesting! No parking space for the house as obviously built before cars! I was lucky and parked as close as I could get.
    All in all a real home from home and I was made to feel very welcome. I would return.

    Read more »

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Australia
    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    June 2017

    Caroline and her partner, Terry were excellent hosts.
    There were very friendly, pleasant and very​ easy to talk to.
    They were very good listeners!
    I would have no problem recommending​ them to anyone.
    Regards
    Tim

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xota4nda zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  3272c7504d7db19f4b2ce832fd3f807a9b44f04f&style=small

    England
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    May 2017

    I really enjoyed my stay through home stay. Being my first home stay visit I wasn't sure what to expect. I can honestly say it was an amazing experience with a really wonderful caring family who went that extra mile to make my stay perfect. I was very comfortable and totally relaxed and felt at home in this beautiful house with such a wonderful character. Thank you so much.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xnty0mzg zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  bcf0c6f6a9bdf70e96460150730b936e5b357705&style=small

    Malaysia
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    April 2017

    Caroline was a very interesting person who has a distinctive view on social issues. She made us feel very comfortable at home and we absolutely enjoyed our stay. Thank you!

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Caroline in ,

    Thank you so much Wan Ying :-) It was lovely meeting you, you are both lovely, and I am glad you felt comfortable. Feel free to come back and visit sometime, adding Glastonbury Tor, Cheddar and Wells on your bucket list of places to visit :-) Best wishes for the future to you both x

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xmziwodm zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  1eb6c8dc820d1e5812bca257f8c18066af32baf3&style=small

    New Zealand
    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    July 2016

    Meeting and being hosted by Caroline,is a highlight of my visit to the UK.
    A short walk from Bath train to bus station,5-10 minute bus journey to Caroline's village of Peasedown St John and easy walk to Caroline's home.
    A delightful cottage in a quiet and beautiful area,has the feeling of 'heart of England'.
    Caroline is a welcoming and interesting host.Her home and guest room are clean and comfortable.Prior communication was prompt and informative.
    I enjoyed an evening walk with Caroline and the lovely Gracie,her dog.
    The wider area retains an atmosphere of times past.Very peaceful.

    I highly recommend this homestay.

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xndixnza zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  ceaf685fd3c301c602b28026a03b98112d95ddc2&style=small

    Zimbabwe
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    December 2015

    Excellent host. I enjoyed my stay with Caroline and her family. Clean and cosy home.

    I would recommend her to anyone looking for a place.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies