About the Homestay

Urban Cosy
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

Lovely large Victorian property in a calm tree lined street in Islington. I live here with my husband, three children (17, 15 and 13 years old) and three guinea pigs.
The room is a bright and spacious double room consisting of bedroom and living area. You will also have your own private bathroom. We have a modern open plan kitchen and dining area, which you are welcome to use. In addition, there is a leafy back garden, with additional dining space (weather permitting !)
We are very centrally located (zone 1), with great transport links to the City, West End and all other London locations. The bus stop is only two minutes from the house. Islington is a really vibrant place to live, with loads of cafes, bars and restaurants to keep you busy. Dalston and Stoke Newington are also within walking distance.
We enjoy cooking, music, cycling, running and meeting new people.

Pets

Guinea Pig

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Barbecue
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 62 nights

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Available for given dates

Guest Bedroom
From £40 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom private (exclusive to guest)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This room is a large double reception room, consisting of a bedroom and spacious living area with desk, chair and lamp. It is bright and on the ground floor of the house. The private bathroom is on the same floor.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
Monthly price
£1,200
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our house is located in the Canonbury area of Islington, just off Essex road. It is a great location, with wonderful cafes, bars, shops and restaurants, all within walking distance. Our road is a lovely quiet tree lined road but with great transport links. Our nearest bus stop is a two minute walk and will give you access to five different bus routes (38, 56, 73, 341,476) taking you to numerous destinations including Oxford St, Covent Garden, Victoria Station, Euston, Kings Cross, the City, St Pauls, Holborn and Waterloo Station.
At the other end of our road, approximately a 8 minute walk , we have an additional three bus routes (21, 76, 141). These will take you to Shoreditch, Dalston, London Bridge, Liverpool St, St. Pauls, Waterloo Station etc.
We are a ten minute walk from the overground at Canonbury Station. This will get you to East London and the Olympic Park and in the other direction, West London, including Hampstead Heath.
Angel tube (Northern line) and Highbury & Islington tube ( Victoria Line) are a fifteen minute walk or you can jump on a bus for five minutes to take you to Angel.
Local parks include Clissold Park, Victoria Park and London Fields. We like to go running and cycling in these parks or along the Regents Canal.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Shopping Centre
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals will incur an additional cost. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

Please enjoy your stay and treat our house as you would your own home!

Please keep our home secure and double-lock the front and back doors when entering and leaving the house.
Keep noise to a minimum after 11pm please.

No loud music/ noise.

No shoes in the bedroom.

No food or drinks in the bedroom.

Please do not invite strangers into our home; if you would like to invite a friend over just agree it with me in advance

Please enjoy your stay and treat our house as you would your own home!

Please provide your own toiletries.

Please clean the bath/shower after each use

Deposit for keys: £30 which will be returned when you leave. Keys are your own responsibility and if lost there is a £150 charge for the replacement and change of locks.

Your host is a non-smoker.

Smoking is not allowed

Smoking is not allowed.

3 Reviews

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Switzerland
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    August 2019

    After living with the Dunham’s for now 6 wonderful months in London, I can say that they are a loving, caring and honest family. They have welcomed me into their home and helped make my experience in London smooth, confortable and memorable. They are very open minded and funny, they were happy to help me with all of my inquiries whilst settling in London. I really appreciated staying with them. The room is spacious, with a beautiful natural lighting and a few sofas where you can watch tv or read a book. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay with them, they offer the opportunity to have a warm and nice home and also have your own private space. The house is just lovely and very well connected to the rest of London and filled with three really funny teenagers!

    The kitchen is a dream to anyone that loves how to cook, bake and eat

    Read more »

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    United Kingdom
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    February 2019

    I have been staying in the house for about 3 months. The room is quite large and the decoration is delicate. And there is TV in the room, which is quite good. You can lay on the sofa and watch TV. Also, I have my own bathroom and it is very large as well. The kitchen is very modern! All the facilities are very convenient!

    The location is also very good. It is located in a very quiet place and there are many buses near the house. It is very easy to get the bus to the Angel station and central London. Some supermarkets, like Tesco, are just 3 minutes' walk from the house. Also there are some lovely coffee shops near here.

    The family is very nice and polite!Caroline and Ralph are very welcome. Really enjoy the conversations with them. There are three teenagers, all of them are very polite and respectful.

    It is really a good place to stay!

    Read more »

  • 1473344394 original

    France
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    September 2017

    I’ve been living in this house for almost a year now. It is difficult to say everything in one review !
    Caroline, Ralph and the children are amazing. They are an adorable family, genuine, sociable, welcoming and sweet. I don’t have any regrets about this experience, full of conversations, sharing, laughs … They are always here to help if you have any wonder about anything.
    The house itself is awesome. Having that space (room, private living room and private bathroom) is basically like having a flat, it is such a great deal, especially in London. Even if you live with the family, you still have a lot of privacy. Also, the common parts are super nice as well. The kitchen is well fitted, the living room is spacious and plus there’s a small garden !
    The location is central (but still quiet), you can reach Angel tube station by walk in 15/20 minutes or by the bus. Same for the food, there’s a big Sainsbury’s, a Waitrose and a Tesco Metro in Angel, so it’s really convenient.
    About the living life on a typical day, I would say that it’s pretty chilled. On the one hand, Caroline and Ralph are super flexible, so you can have your independence. On the other hand, you feel free to share the sofa to watch TV all together on evenings.
    I was very pleased in this house, this is such a great experience to live in this atmosphere, it makes you feel part of the family, and this is something I will always remember.
    Thank you for everything.

    Read more »

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies