Teachers with an interest in people

Homestay in Orpington - London, United Kingdom

About the Homestay

Suburban Cosy
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

We live in a 6 bedroom house with a big garden, easy access to the local shops, station and park land. We have cats and two friendly dogs. We are used to having people of all nations join us.
I am an English and EAL (English as Additional Language) teacher and Edward a deputy head. I am happy to work with guests who wish to improve their English on a casual basis or to provide formal, planned lessons for an additional cost.
We enjoy being able to help people learn while continuing to learn ourselves.
The house is perfectly situated for those who wish to have easy access to London (Petts Wood accesses all major London stations and is a 7 minute walk away) but enjoy the peace of the countryside. Bromley is the greenest borough of London, on the Kent borders. We enjoy walking round the woods accessed from a lane at the back of our garden. We also spend our weekends visiting the wonderful National Trust and English Heritage properties in the surrounding countryside as well as taking advantage of the nearby station to pop into central London to visit museums, stroll along the South Bank and go to dinner.
We are ideally suited for those who wish to cook light meals for themselves as the room has a kitchenette. We also provide home cooked meals for an additional cost.

Pets

Dog, 4 Cats

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Bikes for use
  • Computer
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Smoke alarm on each floor
  • Carbon monoxide detector

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 1 night

Maximum stay is for 40 nights

Check-in date must be before 18 Mar 2020

Available for given dates

Loft room
From £28 per night
Twin Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double, 1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is a large loft room with lovely views. There is a kitchenette at one end of the room with a small fridge, sink and two electric rings. A large and light wet-room with a powerful shower is available for use on the same floor.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • TV
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
£35
£50
Weekly Price
£220
£300
Monthly price
£850
£950
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our house is located in a pleasant suburb of London, Petts Wood. We are 20 minutes from the centre of London by train. The station is an 8 minute walk away. The shops are nearby and there is easy access to buses into Bromley and Orpington shopping centres.
One of the greenest boroughs in London, Bromley has a great many parks to enjoy and you can access long, woodland walks within minutes of our home.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Bowling
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Museum
  • Shopping Centre
  • Horse Stables
  • Water sports
  • Health club
  • Fishing
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals will incur an additional cost. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Half Board
  • Packed lunch
Diet Type available on request
  • Vegetarian
  • Diabetic
  • Lactose Intolerant

House Rules

We ask that you do not smoke in or near to the house. We also ask that you are quiet in the house after ten on school nights as we both rise early and leave around 7am. While we are happy to make new acquaintances, we request that you do not bring anyone else to the house without discussing it with us first.

Smoking is not allowed.

2 Reviews

  • Picture

    United States
    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    October 2014

    Staying with Ed, Jenne and the kids (and the au pair) was like visiting a favorite cousin. Their home is charming and the family warm and inviting. The location is perfect for train rides into London and drives to areas in the south and east. Ed recommended a GREAT Turkish restaurant and we found an equally delightful Indian place on the main street. It was particularly nice to have the little kitchenette in our room as we had picked up a bug on our travels and we could eat and fix tea at all hours without bothering the family.

    Read more »

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Australia
    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    November 2013

    We were made very welcome, and really enjoyed experiencing life as a local. It was great to get away from the tourist trail. Jennie and her family were wonderful hosts, extremely friendly without being overbearing. We were able to spend time with the family, or keep to our own space as we desired, with our own little kitchenette in the room. Lovely setting, with the woods to walk in and a great little shopping centre and train station nearby. They even took us out to Winston Churchills home on Sunday, and we also visited a village fair. We would definitely do it again, and highly reccommend Jennie's homestay to others.

    Read more »

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) and a 25% deposit using a choice of payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal. The deposit is collected in advance on behalf of the host to protect against no show or late cancellations (within 7 days of arrival). You then pay your host the balance due on arrival. The 25% deposit payment is made to the host 2 business days after your scheduled arrival date. This deposit payment will only be refunded if you cancel the booking at least 7 full days prior to arrival.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies