Fun and relaxed couple with 2 cats!

Homestay in Streatham Common - London, United Kingdom

About the Homestay

Cosmopolitan Spacious
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

Welcome to our home. Myself and my husband Alan love welcoming international guests to our fantastic capital city and to our home which is in a quiet, friendly street in Streatham South London with our 2 cats Sammy and Jack.

I work for 2 charities helping refugees and asylum seekers and Alan runs his own business managing nature reserves in London. Sammy and Jack are typical cats so just relax all day!

Our house is relaxed and quiet for your stay. A light breakfast, fresh towels, toiletries and hairdryer are provided and included in the room price. We have a garden and you can use the kitchen to prepare food if you like.

The bus stop and rail train station are less that 7 minutes walk from the house. It is easy to get to the tube (Brixton or Balham underground station). The nearest rail stations are Streatham Common (7 minutes' walk) and Streatham (10 minutes by bus). We have good connections to London Gatwick, London Heathrow and London Luton airports. London Stanstead is a bit further away.

There is free street parking outside the house 24/7 every day. We now have the 24 hour tube to Brixton on Saturdays and Sundays and night buses every day so you can get home 24/7 all week.

You can get to central London, tourist places (Oxford Street, London Eye, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, museums, markets and galleries) and shops like Primark in 30 minutes. You can also get to Brixton or Croydon in 20 minutes which are both good places for food, clothes and shopping.

We have a gym, swimming pool, park, bars, shops, supermarkets, cinema, clubs and restaurants within 10 minutes' by bus.

We have travelled to lots of cities in Europe and also visited many places in Africa, South America, Israel, USA and Scandinavia and enjoy meeting new people from all over the world. We have had guests stay with us from all around the world, including the UK, the Netherlands, Argentina, Ireland, Turkey, Jamaica, Canada, Russia, USA, Spain, Austria, Sicily, Bulgaria, Finland, Columbia, Macedonia, Canada, Sicily, Algeria, Australia, Malta, South Africa, Germany, Morocco, Greece, China, Japan, Taiwan, South Korea, Czech Republic, France, Israel and Italy. We are happy to host language students, tourists, interns and anyone starting a new job in London. We will do our best to help you enjoy your stay in London. We are happy to recommend restaurants, bars, markets, tourist places and help you plan your travel and make the best of your stay.
Just one thing; no unaccompanied children (under 18) allowed (sorry).

Additional Info

We speak some french and spanish and are both trained TEFL teachers

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 1 night

Maximum stay is for 90 nights

Available for given dates

1
From £27 per night
Twin Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
2 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is a large, light and bright double room with 2 single beds. it is up one flight of stairs, south facing at the rear of the house with great views of the garden. The room has plenty of storage, a desk and TV.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • TV
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Fridge
  • Hair-dryer
  • Radio
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
£34
£48
Weekly Price
£217
£310
Monthly price
£835
£1,150
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Streatham Common overground station is only 5 minutes walk from our house. Trains go to/from Central London (Victoria/ London Bridge/ City) every 15 minutes. Travel time is within 30 minutes. The bus stop to Brixton underground is only 5 minutes walk from the house. Balham Underground is 5 minutes by train and Brixton Underground is 2o minutes by bus. You can get home all night from central London as Night buses run all night to 5 minutes from our door.
There is free street parking all day every day outside our house.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Swimming
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Shopping Centre
  • Sports arena
  • Health club
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals will incur an additional cost. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

We only accept adults 18 and over to stay in our home. We do host guests with children.
Enjoy your stay; your room has a TV, DVD player, DVDs, radio, WI FI and tourist guides. You are welcome to borrow guides and DVDs - just replace them after use.
Please come and go as you please just remember to close all windows and lock the door when you go out
You are welcome to invite a friend over - just let us know in advance
Please feel free to use the garden and decking
Please do not smoke in the house; smoking outside in the garden is fine

Smoking is allowed outdoors only.

39 Reviews

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Czech Republic
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    May 2019

    Helen is the kindest person on Earth. She let me kept the key to the house while I was away in another city for a few days but I knew I will be coming back. Her trust means a lot and it makes me so happy we became friends since I have been coming back for some time now. And what a wonderful feeling it is to know that next time I find myself in London I could stay with this amazing persoin in my London home :)

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Czech Republic
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    May 2019

    My London home. What else can I say? Love coming back, always feel very welcome and truly at home. I often feel bad when I come for only one night but I always know I will be back, be it sooner or later.

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Czech Republic
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    May 2019

    I keep coming back to Helen's place for some time now and I love it every time. Not only because Helen is such a sweet and welcoming person and I love the fact we keep getting to know each other better and better but the two cats are a fantastic company as well (i'm a huge cat lover) and it's always a joy to come back.

  • 1552856424 original

    France
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    April 2019

    Helene et Alan are warm and caring hosts, we think them for their hospitality and their openness. We have appreciated the nice bright room, the art deco-inspired bathroom and the cats of course ! The house is being renovated it is not a problem for us ... it will be even more beautiful ! The neighborhood is well served by transport (we have discovered Brixton for instance - located half an hour by bus - good place for shopping in TK Maxx or in the electric avenue market).

    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Helen in ,

    It was a pleasure having Sally and her daughter to stay with us. Lots of smiles, laughter and a little French conversation. It was lovely sharing their adventures in discovering London. We hope to see them again sometime in the future for more adventures. Sammy and Jack miss them already H x

  • 1527535784 original

    Greece
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    April 2019

    Undeniably one of my best homestay experiences. Helen and Alan generously offer a beautiful room in their spacious and comfortable home, and they are admirable guests as well, always ready to help, and to give advice on how to navigate the area among others, and time spent with them always being time well-spent!
    In addition, though, another strong reason to prefer this homestay again in the future is that their two lovely black cats, Jack and Sammy, are always up for cuddles and keep you excellent company while purring and slow-blinking at you! :)
    This is a "home away from home"...

    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Helen in ,

    Pavlos was our first Greek guest - a lovely and courteous visitor. He was polite and interesting - the best mixture of guest. We wish him well with his study and music.

  • 1558120281 original

    United Kingdom
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    April 2019

    Wonderful homestay. Lovely room .Warm and welcoming hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    United Kingdom
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    March 2019

    A great place to stay, Helen and Alan both delightful not forgetting the two cats (as if they'd let you). A lovely room, well decorated with a comfortable bed and good facilities.
    Helen was very helpful with local amenities and travel details. I'd happily stay there again the next time I'm in London.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Germany
    Age 18 - 24

    4 hearts
    March 2019

    This guest awarded the host 4 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Czech Republic
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    February 2019

    Staying with Helen and Alan (and their two cats) is like a home away from home. They told me I'm the first of their guests who came back. Well, why shouldn't I? They are so welcoming and friendly and you feel very good with them. I really like the location of the house too, safe and quiet and easy to get to the central London from. Would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a friendly people to stay with. You will receive a warm welcome and that only adds to the experience!

    Read more »

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Czech Republic
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    January 2019

    I would give even more hearts if I could. I absolutely loved stayimg with Helen and Alan, they are very warm and friendly, kind people and make you feel really at home. The location is fantastic - quiet but you hop on a train (the station is just a few minutes away) and you are in the heart of London in about half an hour. And if you're a cat-lover: this is the place to go. The two cats, Sammy and Jack, love making new friends.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Helen in ,

    Jana, that's so kind; it was a pleasure having you stay. Looking forward the the same again next year - and catching up on your news and adventures. Sammy and Jack missing you always ! helenx

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) and a 25% deposit using a choice of payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal. The deposit is collected in advance on behalf of the host to protect against no show or late cancellations (within 7 days of arrival). You then pay your host the balance due on arrival. The 25% deposit payment is made to the host 2 business days after your scheduled arrival date. This deposit payment will only be refunded if you cancel the booking at least 7 full days prior to arrival.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies