About the Homestay

Suburban Modern
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

I am a teacher, with IELTS knowledge, and my husband and I live in a clean, comfortable home in a quiet cul-de-sac in a leafy suburb just outside Birmingham, within easy access of local tourist spots including Shakespeare's Stratford-upon Avon and Birmingham city centre. We I have lived in our 5 bedroom home for more than 20 years and have hosted house guests for many years. It is a friendly home with a small, well-maintained garden for when the sun shines in the UK! We are close to Birmingham Airport and Birmingham International Railway Station and can provide a collection service, if required. There is also off-road parking, for two cars, on our driveway.

We have one double bedroom and one with a double and single bed for family groups. The downstairs, double bedroom is disability-friendly, with an en suite shower room. Our upstairs bedroom guests will share the family bathroom with bath and shower facilities.

It is a non-smoking home, although guests are able to smoke in the garden and have access to wi-fi. For guests staying over 7 days, a weekly clothes wash is included in the Homestay price.

We offer either bed and breakfast or half-board accommodation, with dinner eaten with us at an additional £8 per person, per day. My husband, Nick, is the main chef of the house and he cooks healthy, tasty meals using fresh ingredients, with experience of catering for various dietary requirements including gluten-free and halal.

I can offer English lessons whilst staying as our house guest. As a qualified teacher, I have experience of teaching English to of students who have another language as their mother tongue and can provide testimonials, if required. Lessons are suited to students' budget, time availability and needs and cover A1 to C2 levels with specific work-sector emphasis, where requested.

The programme of lessons is compiled with specific targets in mind. Costs are competitive but can only be discussed following accommodation booking, according to Homestay requirements.

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 2 nights

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

Upstairs room
From £16 per night
Twin Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

spacious upstairs double room.

  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
Weekly Price
Monthly price
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Shirley is a 30 minutes bus ride away from Birmingham city centre and 20 minutes from Solihull town centre. Solihull is considered an affluent residential area and boasts great shopping along with a variety of pubs and restaurants. There are bus stops within five minutes walk of our home and the train station - 10 minutes walk from us - is on the Birmingham to Stratford upon Avon line, with two trains per hour during the daytime Monday - Friday. Solihull train station is a short bus ride away and is on the Birmingham to Marylebone (London) line. London is around two hours away by train.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Swimming
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Museum
  • Shopping Centre
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital


Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Half Board
  • Full Board
  • Packed lunch
Diet Type available on request
  • Vegetarian
  • Halal

House Rules

Keep noise to a minimum after midnight please
Please do not invite strangers into our home; if you would like to invite a friend over just agree it with us in advance
Please remember to lock the doors if there is no-one in when you leave during the day and always when you come in at night

Smoking Rules

Your host is a non-smoker.

Smoking is allowed outdoors only.

19 Reviews

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8yote0mze zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  a1b40c938874db0774eefb281efea0600621d2ae&style=small

    Saudi Arabia
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    October 2019

    I would like to thank Yvonne and Nick for all that they did for me. They made my stay in Birmingham wonderful. Yvonne welcomed me like a member of her family. She advised and helped me every day to make my stay easier and to improve my English, even told me about the tourist spots outside Birmingham. Nick is such a great chef and so respectful. The house (I would rather call it home) is very clean and beautiful in a peaceful area closed to bus stop. I really recommend to stay with them ! Thank you so much Yvonne and Nick.

    Read more »

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    August 2019

    Nick and Yvonne already made me feel as part of their family from day one. Not just that they provided me with delicious food and a comfortable bed but they also took me around Birmingham and were always open for conversations.
    I genuinely enjoyed the time I got to live with them and hope to come back someday.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zmdc1mty zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  bd273054c9912192390d5d5225d7e7616929f666&style=small

    Saudi Arabia
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    May 2019

    Yvonne and nick were wonderful
    The are easygoing and they cared about me and they help me with my English a lot
    The provided halal food for me
    It was my pleasure to live with them

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    January 2019

    Yvonne and Nick made me feel at home from day 1. They are really helpfull and extremely kind. Yvonne also takes time to show and experience the culture of England. Delicious meals, very comfortable room and really nice company. Highly recommended for short and long stays.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    October 2018

    Non immaginavo che avrei trovato una casa così confortevole, pulita e che avrei avuto la possibilità di conoscere Yvonne e Nick una coppia squisita non solo ottimi padroni di casa,persone socievoli, cordiali,disponibili e simpatiche; consiglio e tutti questa famiglia per me è stata una piacevolissima sorpresa! tornerò sicuramente.Nicola

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xodc2odq zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  ed77e190730bedc09441cdd83cee2ed2a05470f6&style=small

    United Kingdom
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    May 2018

    Highly reccomended !!!! Thank you !!!

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ymji3odg zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  6e23ccad72ed1cfe19ab5718f9c4422e6ef384d8&style=small

    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    May 2018

    Yvonne and Nick made me feel at home right away. They are very nice, open-minded and were really helpful by providing me with valuable tips and information during my first days in the UK. They have a nice, clean and warm house situated in a peaceful neighborhood and close to the train station. The bedroom is spacious and very comfortable. I had a wonderful time and would gladly stay here again.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    United Kingdom
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    February 2018

    This guest awarded the host 5 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ymta1nzu zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  acfec9d78a7ed76e0678bd17673f8e3e1a5cc5ef&style=small

    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    January 2018

    This guest awarded the host 5 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xodyymjk zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  8530144b9377ca16fd49fde804fd376cb84cac2a&style=small

    Age 75+

    5 hearts
    November 2017

    Yvonne was a lovely host. The room was very clean and well appointed and my evening meal cooked by her husband delicious. Would definitely stay there again!

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies