Convenient and Private

Homestay in Manhattanville---Harlem - New York, United States

About the Homestay

Urban Urban
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

We live on the corner of a lively intersection in Manhattan. 2 short blocks from the 1train subway and walking distance to many restaurants, convenience stores and 5 different bus lines. The subway will bring you to Times Square in 15 minutes which is the hub of tourist activity.
Travel time from the airport will be determined by what mode you choose, however, you will be able to get here from the 3 major airports within 30 minutes to 1. 5 hours depending on traffic, airport, and mode of transport.

We are a homeschooling family of 4. Pablo is a swim coach and Sarah is a teacher of English as a foreign language besides the primary teacher for the girls. Melodie and Sophie are both busy teenagers with academic, social, and sports interests. We all enjoy swimming, and Sarah enjoys biking. The girls were born in 2000 and 20003 and enjoy visitors from all over the world.

Please plan to arrive at our home by 9 p.m. as we tend to retire for the evening by 10. Thanks!

(We do keep the Sabbath hours, so please do not contact me on Friday evenings or Saturdays (EST) because I am offline and will not respond in time. Thanks!)

Additional Info

Spanish is spoken by Pablo; and Sarah's experience in teaching English to all nationalities enables her to communicate with everyone quite effectively!

House Facilities
  • Bikes for use
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Air Conditioning

Bedrooms available for booking

Note 3 night min & 29 night max stay 

   

Single Guest Room
From $60 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This room is a single room with a large south-facing window. It is on the 4th floor with a view of Broadway and the steeple of Riverside Church.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Air Conditioning
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Carpet / Moquette
 1 guest
Nightly Price
$60
Double Room
From $65 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Bunk Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This room is large enough for 2 people. A large window faces south giving lots of natural light.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Carpet / Moquette
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$65
$95
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our home is 2 blocks from the subway which brings you to Times Square in 15 minutes. There are a plethora of supermarkets and small grocery stores as well as pharmacies, restaurants, and bars. There are 3 different bus lines steps away from the building and 2 more only 1 block away.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Swimming
  • Library
  • Health club
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals will incur an additional cost. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

Feel free to use the kitchen for light cooking but please clean up after!
Absolutely NO food or drink outside the kitchen. This means that no food or drink of ANY kind (except clear, natural water) is allowed in the bedroom. None. Nada. Nothing. Store and consume food, snacks, drinks, candy, etc. only in the kitchen.

No Food or drink is allowed in the bedroom.

Please do not invite strangers into our home; if you would like to invite a friend over just agree it with me in advance.

No smoking or alcohol inside our home. You are welcome to do this outside in a public place.

No shoes inside the apartment. We have a small entry where you can leave your shoes. Feel free to bring along a pair of indoor slippers if you need to cover your feet.

Please remember that the bathroom is shared with our family; we can wait to take a shower, but waiting for the toilet is uncomfortable business! Also, kindly remove any hair that gets caught in the drain after you shower.
Please do not stuff the toilet with large amounts of toilet paper and expect it to flush. Use small amounts of paper at a time.

Smoking is not allowed.

31 Reviews

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Denmark
    Age 45 - 54

    4 hearts
    May 2018

    A good mother and listen to you any time.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Ireland
    Age 55 - 64

    4 hearts
    April 2018

    I stayed with Sarah and her family for 8 nights while attending a professional development training course in New York. Sarah was welcoming and her lovely home was absolutely spotless and exactly as seen in the photo. Sarah has house rules that she makes clear from the start and are easy to observe. It was an excellent value Homestay. I enjoyed my stay and it was perfectly placed near the subway to get easily and quickly to all the sights in the city. There were ample shops and a deli close by the house and travelling on the subway was easy and felt safe well into the evening. I got a cab back to the apartment on a couple of occassions and it was inexpensive. It is a very interesting area. Thank you to Sarah and her family for their hospitality.

    Read more »

  • 1503847320 original

    Japan
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    September 2017

    It was very short stay, but I enjoyed a lot. The family was very nice, and the location was also very good!

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    France
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    August 2017

    Nous avons été très bien accueilli par Pablo et sa fille, leurs conseils et leur disponibilités sont très appréciables. L'appartement est bien situé à côté du métro de la 137 st City College . C'est un quartier vivant avec des petits restos sympas et boutique

  • 1501124874 original

    Germany
    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    August 2017

    Pablo is a super friendly host and always very helpful. Tank you for some wonderful days in New York!

  • 1424579150 original

    Ireland
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    March 2017

    Very convenient location for NY transit, a nice quiet home and I enjoyed some use of the kitchen as well. A lovely host family and I enjoyed talking with them during my stay here.

  • 1462129827 original

    Norway
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    November 2016

    This guest awarded the host 5 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Estonia
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    September 2016

    It was a great pleasure to stay with the familiy :)
    The host is nice and warm. I've really enjoyed it & would recommend it to anyone.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Iran
    Age 25 - 34

    4 hearts
    April 2016

    A great family. Pablo: kind, cooperative and a good mixer; Sarah: serious but very communicative; the girls: lovely and friendly.
    The place: The building was old. Sarah's apartment was clean and of course big. The best thing about it: it is close to a subway station.
    All in all, I enjoyed my stay with the family and I would like to thank them again.

  • 1512468475 original

    United Kingdom
    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    July 2015

    This guest awarded the host 5 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies