Homestay in SYLMAR - Sylmar/Los Angeles, United States

About the Homestay

Urban Spacious
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

I'm a single parent. I got 3 kids of whom 1 lives with me full time. I have a 2-story house, 4 bedroom and 3 full bath of which two of these are "his" & "hers". The bedrooms are bigger than regular-sized room and the closets are full wardrobe mirror. The Homestay room is at the 1st floor. The bathroom & toilet is private and exclusive. There’s a hair dryer & flat iron that guest can use upon request. My house has a small backyard. I don't have pets but i live at the foot of the hill and there are different animals appearing at the back of my property from time to time . My house is close to elementary, middle, high school like Bishop Alemany, 10 minutes drive; college which is the California State University of Northridge (CSUN), 12 minutes drive. It is also close to churches, post office, malls, theater, bus stops, parks, fast food restaurants, coffee shops, grocery stores, churches and highways. We are about 30 minutes drive from downtown L.A. My house is literally 15 minutes away from Universal Studios Hollywood and 20 minutes to Magic Mountain. Hollywood Walk of Fame is about 20 miles away. We're very close to Children's Museum of L.A. There's also a public library with a big park and swimming pool and big fish pond owned by the city of L.A. which is open to the public. There's horseback riding and a mini zoo close by as my house is animal-zoned area and there's an open firing range. My house is also close to Police station. I speak English, Tagalog and "poquito" Espanol and so with my son. We love to dine outside, travel, horse back riding, work out and exercise. I know most of my neighbors in my community because I live here for 15 years. Check-in is 4 pm, check-out is 12 noon.

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 31 nights

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

Downstairs Bedroom
From $40 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom private (exclusive to guest)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates
 1 guest
Monthly price
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

My house is located at the northeast part of San Fernando Valley in Los Angeles. It is walking distance to bus stops. We are close to coffee shops, fast food, grocery stores, churches, post office, freeways and gas stations. There's a McDonald's, Starbucks, Walmart, Target, Costco & Home Depot, RiteAid nearby. There's a local library, big park and big swimming pool open to the public. There are schools close by from elementary to City Colleges and university. Uber and Lyft, private transport services/taxis are available.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Bowling
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Museum
  • Shopping Centre
  • Horse Stables
  • Fishing
  • Restaurant
  • Airport
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital


Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

Everyone is welcome to stay temporarily in my home. Like any other homes & properties, there are rules and regulations to be strictly followed like no smoking/vaping, no drinking, no alcohol, no drugs like ecstasy, cocaine or any other controlled substance. No guns, no weapons, no ammunition even if its licensed its not allowed in the rented room or premises. No gambling, no pets. No marijuana or weeds unless it is for medical reason and if it is, guest should show me a signed, current written Rx from the doctor or certification from a licensed doctor. I require COVID vaccination. A negative Covid test result is also required 3 days prior to occupancy of the room. International guest is required to show passport and a government issued picture ID prior to entry to the house. Renter is allowed visitor in premises 1 or 3 at a time, but absolutely no overnight stay for visitors & no sleep overs not even 1 night. Music inside the room is allowed but not loud, bothersome music. No loud musical instruments in the room. No girlfriend/no boyfriend or significant other to sleep or stay overnight. No open flame in the room. Toiletries and other paper products are provided but should be consumed conscientiously. Cooking is NOT allowed. There's microwave you may use to warm your food. Refrigerator is provided so no personal ref of any size is allowed inside the room. You can use stuff in the kitchen just let me know and you have to clean up after you. No kitchen or cooking appliance inside the room. Street Parking. Utilities and Wifi included. Guest staying for long time like more than 31 days can use my address as their temporary mailing address but not for business purposes, only for personal. Same for deliveries from Amazon, Fedex/UPS or other delivery services. Treat my house the way you want your house/apartment to be treated. If you have mental or psychological health issue or any physical limitations that I should know, please feel free to tell me so I can assist you if you need help. Don't be embarrassed to tell me, remember, I'm your host, I'm here to help you and make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Everything is confidential, just between you and me. I want you to be happy and comfortable while you stay in my home as me and my son are good, nice and fun-loving, hospitable people. Covid Booster at least 6 months prior to arrival is required before entry into the house. There is a $50.00 fee for key. If you lost it, it's $25 for each key lost. I need full cash payment in US$ for the balance of your stay on the day of your arrival. Check in time on weekdays is 4:00pm check out 12:00 noon and on weekends check in is 2:00 pm, check out 12:00 noon.

Smoking Rules

Your host is a non-smoker.

Smoking is not allowed.

1 Review

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8yodq2mti zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  2a815f0c95f0eba4b7485d61fd5913c287cbd777&style=small

    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    October 2019

    Thank you for Zenaida.
    I did a short stay of three days. On the first day, my host welcomed me even when my arrival was late at night. The room I used was a very comfortable room with a large bed, closet, work desk and air conditioning. I'm not very good at English, but my host was kind enough to speak English slowly. I also went shopping with my host and her son, and went out for a day and night with my host son and his friends. The host's son was very kind, friendly.
    The experience of playing in Santa Monica with my host son and friends at night will be a memory of me for the rest of my life. The host was also very worried about my future trip. The host, her son, and his friends were all very kind people. The homestay's house is clean and very spacious. I think it won't be difficult to stay for a long time, and you can easily communicate with the host and their son and meet various people.
    The last night served a pizza to the host. I am very happy to meet my host, my son and friends in my first time in America.
    If you are considering a homestay in Los Angeles, I highly recommend it.


    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family ZENAIDA in ,

    Itsuna, thank you very much for your kind words. It is mine and my son's privilege to host you. I wish you the best in your endeavor specially your future travel. We found a friend for life in you. Good luck and may God bless you.

How do I book?

Contact the host about your stay - tell them a little about yourself, why you are staying and ask any questions you have about their homestay. You will be able to book immediately after sending your message.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) and a 25% deposit using a choice of payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal. The deposit is collected in advance on behalf of the host to protect against no show or late cancellations (within 7 days of arrival). You then pay your host the balance due on arrival. The 25% deposit payment is made to the host 2 business days after your scheduled arrival date. This deposit payment will only be refunded if you cancel the booking at least 7 full days prior to arrival.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies