About the Homestay

  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

Great Conversation and Food! $800/mth

I am looking for a female boarder-roommate for a furnished room in a two-bedroom, 600 sq ft apartment in south Waltham, near Moody St.. Earliest availability December 1. I am a 59 year old female writer, good cook and morning person. Since it’s as easy to cook for two as for one, I’m offering to supply food as well as all utilities (heat, electricity, Internet.) There is laundry on the premises and a yard! No off-street parking, but it’s a quiet side street and it’s not usually hard to find parking. Very close to the riverwalk. I’m looking for someone one quiet and responsible, who is not here all the time. We can discuss Covid precautions in person/over the phone. Unfortunately, the apartment is not handicapped accessible; one full staircase. Small pets negotiable. There is no storage outside of the bedroom closet.

Food, etc.: I expect that I will be able to provide about 70% of your meals. You would be welcome to half of all the food in the house and expected to do your own dishes, and generally be neat and clean. Taking the trash out occasionally would be great as would be taking a turn cleaning the bathroom & kitchen floor. This is an environmentally conscious household. I ask that you recycle and conserve energy. You’re welcome to take a ‘brown bag’ lunch to work/school. I cook almost everything from scratch, avoid foods with coloring or preservatives and use seasonal vegetables. My meals tend to be light on meat (all kinds as well as chicken and fish), dairy and grains and heavy on vegetables. I cook two or three main courses a week, and often something else, like yogurt (I make it myself) or a salad. I keep healthy snacks on hand, usually fresh/dried fruit and canned fish/cheese to eat with crackers. I don’t keep sweets on hand. If you want you’re welcome to occasionally cook for yourself, prepare yourself a snack and bring in whatever additional food you want. I don’t serve meals at a particular time, rather you can take what you want from the fridge and heat it up yourself. We’ll probably occasionally sit down to a meal together but it’s not scheduled. Very light alcohol & marijuana use ok. All of this is subject to minor adjustments.

Here is a list of what I’ve cooked recently: chicken marbella, lentil burgers, curried squash soup with coconut milk, sauted broccoli rab, roasted root vegetables, beef stew, bean stew with yucca, chayote & pork, buckwheat pancakes with molasses and sesame oil, orange juice cucumber oregano smoothie, white bean soup with kale and linguica, lentil stew with lamb bits, carrot ginger soup, stir fried rice & vegetables.

Please respond with a little bit about yourself and your plans for the future. All races & ethnicities welcome, gay friendly. I’ll probably do a phone screen and may want to meet you more than once before making a decision. In addition to first month’s rent, I’ll need one month’s rent as security deposit/last month’s rent.

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Non Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 60 nights

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Available for given dates

Roommate's Room
From $25 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom private (exclusive to guest)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates
 1 guest
Monthly price
$750
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

My apartment is on the south side of Waltham, a 15 minute walk from major bus lines and the commuter rail. It is a safe, multi ethnic residential neighborhood.

Local Area Facilities
  • Shopping Centre
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Full Board

House Rules

Females roommates only, not guests, must be quiet and responsible. No heavy alcohol use. Must recycle.

Smoking is not allowed.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies