About the Homestay

Rural Cosy
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

Hello from the beautiful Taranaki , and in particular Hawera .
Home of the mountain, and lots of wonderful gardens.
My garden is large and space to sit on deck in sun if the day is warm even in winter.
I have made a cosy room for guests at this house , with a double bed and nice morning sun.
Am available to pick up from airport if necessary.
Has internet access, Netflix and a night meal is also provided. This is now reflected in the rates, as I see I only need to provide a light breakfast.
Good home cooking, I even do baking.
Am close the main town center of Hawera , where there are several good cafes and restaurants , even Movies.
Laundry in home so you can do any washing if needed.
This is a shared bathroom, and no bath , only a shower. One toilet, but it has separate access from bathroom, which is good for me and guests.
Looking forward to seeing you all, and making lots of new memories for us.

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Computer
  • Laundry
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Non Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 2 nights

Maximum stay is for 29 nights

Available for given dates

Bedroom 1
From $35 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

this is a large double room with a Queen size bed. Would be fine for a couple . Gets all the sun in the morning, and is nice & cool in summer. large wardrobe for any storage

  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
Weekly Price
Main Room
From $35 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
Weekly Price
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

My house is located close to the main township of Hawera .
There is a local park nearby, as well as the town information centre and close to quite a few local restaurants and cafes.
The house has one bathroom, with separate shower, and separate toilet.
Nice garden to sit on patio and enjoy the peace and quiet, lovely views of the mountain from the front gate.
I can do a light meal at night if required

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Beach
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Fishing
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop


Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

This is a smoke free house and zone , I do not wish to have any smoker in this house.
I like people to enjoy themselves at my house and to feel free to help themselves to make a tea or coffee and grab a biscuit if they need a snack.

Smoking is not allowed.

11 Reviews

  • 1515240284 original

    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    November 2018

    Lorraine was very helpful in different situations, when I couldn't find back in the dark to her house. The dinners every evening tasted very well. We had some conversation in the evenings About several Points of experiences - Her home is very qiet, nice to Sleep in a good bed. Thank her for all, Christian

  • 1529661006 original

    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    July 2018

    Great place too stay , warm clean and tidy . Lorraine is a fantastic cook serving a delightful fantasgtic evening meal.
    I SORRY I missed out on breakfast as I had to leave at 6am most mornings .
    I should not be giving such a good review as next time I am in Auckland it will be fully booked out.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Lorraine in ,

    Thanks Wayne glad you enjoyed your stay. good luck with the project.
    cheers Lorraine

  • 1519862776 original

    South Korea
    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    April 2018

    I stayed at Lorraine’s home on 3/30/2018 and left NZ the following morning. As I imagined by looking at her portfolio in homestay ad, she was a typical New Zealand lady, warm and kind. She made Thai curry with rice for dinner and was delicious ! She even drop me off at AKL airport next day without additional charges. I stayed at 4 star hotel for 19 days but I was alone and no fun. I felt home at Lorraine’s and enjoyed company for change. Thank you Lorraine for everything you’ve done for me during my stay. Hope to see you again. Dr. Maria Park

    Read more »

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    December 2017

    Great host!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Lorraine in ,

    Daniela is a very good guest. She eats all my cooking and is very easy to have around the house . Hope rest of her trip in NZ goes well.

  • 1476682520 original

    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    November 2017

    Lorraine is absolutely lovely and has a great homestay, the queen bed was beautiful to sleep in and the house is awesome. I can see that she treats her visitors very very well. Thanks Lorraine, I will return :-)

  • 1502947861 original

    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    September 2017

    Lorri has excellent cooking and a warm room, very friendly, I enjoy the time on the Otahuhu.
    I will miss her and those delicious food.

    Thank you!

  • 1486552718 original

    New Zealand
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    August 2017

    Lorraine provided very comfortable modest accommodation with meals and company that were enjoyable for me.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Lorraine in ,

    Thanks Neil, You've been a great guest.
    Best wishes for your house renovations.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    United Kingdom
    Age 55 - 64

    4 hearts
    February 2017

    Lorraine was a wonderful host; very generous with her time. We felt very comfortable and at ease. The only draw back was the distance from town; although easy enough to get in, the last bus was 6.40pm so that made the evening short.
    Can be complicated to use public transport from airport so use a taxi; more direct and little more than the bus and train fare.
    However, Lorraine went out of her way to take us about, showed us the 'real' Auckland which we very much appreciated; great to see how things work outside of the tourist areas. Enjoyed looking around the suburbs.
    Lorraine also took us to the stores to set us up for the trip North which was a GREAT help. Many thanks for a memorable stay.
    A & B

    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Lorraine in ,

    Thank you Anne &Brian. You were great guests . Felt more like friends come to stay than strangers. Specially when you did all the dishes. Safe travels Lorraine

  • 1483232976 original

    United Kingdom
    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    January 2017

    I was very happy staying with Lorraine. She is a kind and caring lady and an excellent cook. She kindly collected me from my bus stop and dropped me at the airport camper van depot to continue my journey. In addition, Lorraine took me on a tour around Auckland and all along the harbour area, so that I would be able to find my way the following day. Her home is ideally situated for the airport and the main routes around the city. A very satisfying experience. Thank you, Ali from Bath, UK.

    Read more »

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 75+

    5 hearts
    February 2016

    Lorraine Lee who was my host for a week in Otahuhu, was very helpful with information in order to get around the city of Auckland. She provided me with a comfortable room, and very good meals, and I couldn't fault her in any way, and would recommend her to anyone wishing to stay in her home.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies