About the Homestay

Cosmopolitan Spacious
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

SHORT OR LONG TERM ROOM AVAILABLE
WHVisa, Students or Professionals
Our family live in a beautiful suburb called Hawthorne, it is a 15 minute (express) trip on the City Cat to Riverside in the city(Zone 1) and QUT. The transport to UQ is also convenient.
We are experienced homestay providers and we have hosted students from most European and Asian countries. You will have your own fully furnished bedroom with all linen included. Also included are breakfast and wifi and laundry facilities. There are no extra costs.
If I am available I am happy to meet you at the airport (daylight hours) and show you around the city. I will assist you with opening a bank account and buying a sim card.
If you need an address for a Tax File Number I am happy to assist you before you arrive.
Also if you have a Working Holiday Visa I will also help you with your resume and help you to get a job by giving you interview hints.

I look forward to hearing from you.Our traditional Queenslander home is situated in a beautiful suburb called Hawthorne, very close to the CBD. We live near the Brisbane River so the Citycat ( fast catamaran) is the quickest transport to the CBD.(15 minutes express)
My husband Tony and I live with our students and other visitors, we often have family meals and lots of fun.
Included in the homestay fee are the following:
# Continental breakfast (self serve)
# Your own room and shared bathroom
# wifi
# Laundry facilities
# Sheets, towels etc
We also have a beach house on the Sunshine Coast which we stay at most weeks, you may come with us if convenient . Sometimes we go camping to the beach or to the country side, if convenient you would be very welcome to join us.
We have assisted over a hundred people settle into Brisbane on a longer term basis and we are very happy to assist you if you are coming to Brisbane for any of the following reasons:
* relocation for work
* attending university or studying English
* working holiday visa (assistance with obtaining your Tax File Number, bank account, resume, sim card etc)
* holiday
We are happy for you to stay one week or many years. I am very happy to assist you with your English study and assignments.
The environment around our neighborhood is very quiet and safe and there are some great restaurants and cinemas within walking distance.
For your added safety , we have two security cameras at the front of the house.
I am also very happy to negotiate a different fee for long term guests.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have further questions. I look forward to meeting you.

Additional Info

Two nights minimum booking please.
Street parking is available.
Free wifi is available but only for emails, facebook, research etc, no downloading movies and music.

Pets

Dog

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Air Conditioning

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 5 nights

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Available for given dates

Hawthorne
From $37 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Beautiful large double room, with timber floors, air conditioning and high ceilings, lots of cupboards and hanging space, wifi. Sheets and towels included

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Air Conditioning
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Mirror
  • Fridge
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$50
$60
Weekly Price
$280
$350
Monthly price
$1,125
$1,515
Bulimba room
From $37 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Lovely queen size bed in a large room overlooking our leafy garden, French doors opening onto a large deck.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$50
$60
Weekly Price
$280
$350
Monthly price
$1,125
$1,515
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Hawthorne is one of Brisbane's traditional suburbs with beautiful timber Queenslander high set homes on large blocks of land. It is 6 kilometers from the CBD and 8 minutes by car. The local village of Bulimba has many trendy coffee shops, restaurants, a supermarket and a cinema.
The Hawthorne Citycat ferry terminal is only 7 minutes walk and the nearest bus stop is 5 minutes walk from our home.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Swimming
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Shopping Centre
  • Water sports
  • Health club
  • Fishing
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

Enjoy living in our home!
Respect others in our home, advise me if you don't want dinner, don't use our home as a hotel.
If you are a smoker we prefer you smoke away from our property please.

Smoking is allowed outdoors only.

7 Reviews

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Australia
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    August 2017

    Louise and Tony are amazing hosts the environment is relaxing full of experiances with overseas travellers stay as well meals were never an issue for louise and delicious the stay is very homely and comfortable highly recommend

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Louise & Tony in ,

    Many thanks for staying with us Lachlan, you are very welcome any time.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Poland
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    July 2016

    Starting my new life in Brisbane in a house like that was one of the best choices I could make. Louise and her husband have been extremely kind and helpful for me during my stay there. Although it was not that long, I will surely remember it as a great experience!

  • 5 hearts
    March 2016

    Wonderful location, the house is clean and cozy. Owners are nice and kind. They helped me to improve my English and every dinner were a good opportunity to practice English with family and other guests. This is a fantastic homestay for students, workers and to holiday.

  • 1424599830 original

    France
    Age 45 - 54

    4.2 hearts
    September 2014

    This guest awarded the host 4.2 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

  • 4.9 hearts
    December 2011

    ottimo, perfetto!!! Grazie

  • 4.4 hearts
    April 2010

    La experiencia en gral fue muy buena. El ambiente es agradable, la casa estaba relativamente limpia, me senti comoda como en mi casa, la ubicacion es buena, es un barrio residencial, donde te tomas el ferry y en pocos min estas en el centro de la ciudad.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    France
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    February 2010

    This family is very very enjoyable, everybody is sympatic it is a second home. The house is very beautiful. I stay just two weeks but it is very interesting my english was to improuved and I saw a true Australian life. If you look for a familly in Brisbane I think this family is for you.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) and a 25% deposit using a choice of payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal. The deposit is collected in advance on behalf of the host to protect against no show or late cancellations (within 7 days of arrival). You then pay your host the balance due on arrival. The 25% deposit payment is made to the host 2 business days after your scheduled arrival date. This deposit payment will only be refunded if you cancel the booking at least 7 full days prior to arrival.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies