About the Homestay

Rural Cosy
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

I live in the country about 3 km. from Athlone which is a large midland town built on the Beautiful river shannon the largest river in Ireland. Our house is walking distance from Lough Ree which has a beautiful Yacht Club which has many sailing competitions during the Summer months. Athlone has many places of interest recently refurbished Athlone Castle, Luain Gallery a short drive to Clonmacnoise which is one of the most visited places of interest in Ireland. There are four Golf Clubs within a short distance of Athlone. I live with my husband Peter and have two adult children Yvonne is a Primary teacher working nearby and my son is doing a post~grad in IT. We run a B & B during the summer months mainly clients of the Yacht Club.

Additional Info

there is plenty of car parking facilities.
Long terms stays welcome, prices can be negotiated.

Pets

Dog

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Bikes for use
  • Computer
  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 1 night

Maximum stay is for 7 nights

Available for given dates

Facing road and front garden
From 26 per night
Triple Room
Sleeps 3

Bathroom ensuite (within room)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is in front of house with double and single bed En Suite with Tv

Facilities
  • Carpet / Moquette
 1 guest
2+ Guests
Nightly Price
30
90
Weekly Price
200
600
Garden view
From 35 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom ensuite (within room)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates
Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Wheelchair Accessible
  • TV
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
35
70
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our house is situated 3km from the town of Athlone which is in the centre of Ireland. Yacht Club is walking distance which is situated on Lough Ree the largest lake on the River Shannon whic is renowned for its sailing and fishing. There are 4 Golf Clubs nearby.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Gym
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Shopping Centre
  • Horse Stables
  • Fishing
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals will incur an additional cost. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Full Breakfast
  • Packed lunch
Diet Type available on request
  • Vegetarian
  • Vegan
  • Coeliac

House Rules

Smoking is not permitted inside the house. Do not adjust heating just let me know and we will adjust same. No friends allowed unless prior arrangements. Kitchen can be used. Garden is available to guests at all times.

Smoking is allowed indoors and outdoors.

7 Reviews

  • 1537378823 original

    Ireland
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    October 2018

    I really enjoyed my stay with Margaret She was very friendly and kind and made sure I had everything I needed .The room was very comfortable and clean and the property is very central and easy to find . Thanks Margaret for making me feel at home Ciara

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Margaret in ,

    Thanks Ciara for that nice review it was a pleasure having you and hopefully we will meet again. Margaret

  • 1526819283 original

    Germany
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    May 2018

    Myself & my parents stayed with Margaret during our holiday to Ireland, she was very friendly host, willing to advice on places to visit & eat. The rooms were clean & comfortable, which is always nice at the end of a busy sightseeing day. Would defiantly stay again if I visit Ireland in the future, until then best wishes and thank you for helping to find a doctor for my mum. Tina.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Margaret in ,

    Thank you Tina for that nice review it was pleasure having you especially meeting your Mam and Dad and that ye enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland. looking forward to having you on your next trip to Ireland.Best wishes always Margaret

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Ireland
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    July 2017

    Enjoyable stay. Margaret is a friendly and very attentive host.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Margaret in ,

    Thanks Thomas Thanks for your very nice review hopefully you will come this way again and good luck Margaret

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Australia
    Age 75+

    5 hearts
    July 2017

    Margaret is a wonderful host. We were privileged to be able to stay in her home and experience life in an Irish family home. Her attention to detail was much appreciated.

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Margaret in ,

    Hello Dot and Colin thank you for that very nice review it was a pleasure having you both and really good chatting with you. Hope ye are enjoying the rest of your stay and hopefully we will meet again. Peter sends his best wishes. Margaret

  • 1462980545 original

    Ireland
    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    September 2016

    fantastic host , beautiful house , very comfortable ,all was perfect

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Ireland

    5 hearts
    August 2016

    A lovely person and a lovely home. Margaret was so kind to my young son and his cousin. My son needed now doc in the morning and she drove us there and waited with us till he received treatment. I had apple tart and tea on my arrival. Would definitely return.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Canada
    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    June 2016

    Awesome time very friendly hostess who went out of her way to show us around . I would definitely stay there again

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) and a 25% deposit using a choice of payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal. The deposit is collected in advance on behalf of the host to protect against no show or late cancellations (within 7 days of arrival). You then pay your host the balance due on arrival. The 25% deposit payment is made to the host 2 business days after your scheduled arrival date. This deposit payment will only be refunded if you cancel the booking at least 7 full days prior to arrival.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies