About the Homestay

Village Rustic
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

I live in one of the remaining unique and original villages, situated in the north of the island, 5 minutes' drive from the sea, 25 minutes from the airport and Valletta and 10 minutes from St. Julian's. My tastefully converted farmhouse sits in the centre of the village near the church and bus stop and the quality accommodation available is self-contained and accessible, up a few steps, from the garden. The modern, bright and airy twin room has a shower en suite and private terrace. The village is surrounded by countryside and offers lovely walks with pretty views. It is quiet and amenities include a few small basic shops, some local bars, a gym, hairdressers, a trendy wine bar, and 2 good restaurants.

Additional Info

If you enjoy the countryside, can cycle and like walking, nature and relaxation, then my house is ideal for you. As the buses in Malta are unreliable, you can rent bicycles or a car if you want to drive to the busy towns like St. Julians or Sliema, which are very near. There is a direct bus to Valletta from Gharghur.

Pets

2 Cats, Horse

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • TV
  • Internet Access

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 5 nights

Maximum stay is for 20 nights

Available for given dates

Garden view room
From 45 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom ensuite (within room)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This twin bedded/double room is modern and very bright and airy, with many windows overlooking a pretty garden. Shower and toilet en suite and private terrace. Large built-in wardrobe and computer desk. Possibility for 3rd person.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Mirror
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
46
49
Weekly Price
315
336
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

My house is situated about 2 minutes' walk from the village core and bus stop. There is a direct bus to the capital city, Valletta, and to Naxxar and Mosta, where buses to the rest of the island and beaches can be taken. This ancient village is situated at the second highest point on the island and surrounded by countryside. It's ideal for guests who like to get away from the hustle and bustle of town and enjoy the quiet ambience and typical Maltese village life that Gharghur offers.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Swimming
  • Beach
  • Horse Stables
  • Health club
  • Fishing
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Full Breakfast
  • Half Board
  • Packed lunch
Diet Type available on request
  • Vegetarian
  • Diabetic
  • Lactose Intolerant
  • Nut Allergies

House Rules

Please do not smoke in the room but you may smoke on your private terrace or in the garden. Do not hang wet clothes/towels on the wooden furniture. Please do not invite strangers in the house without prior permission. Cooking is not permitted but you may put a couple of items in the fridge. Any special requests can be discussed with the owner as your comfort is important.

Smoking is allowed outdoors only.

8 Reviews

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Ireland
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    September 2018

    Beautiful location and excellent Host.Madeline made us feel very welcome.Nice to experience the authentic Maltese Culture.Really enjoyed the company of Bertie and Pupa .Thanks for a lovely Holiday.

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Germany
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    September 2018

    We really enjoyed our stay at Madeleine's place. The house is wonderful and really beautiful, Madeleine is really nice and helped us out with everything we needed! If we will visit Malta again, we'll definitely stay at her place again!

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Madeleine in ,

    Natalie and her mum were super guests and relaxed and cycled all around Malta for practically the whole of their stay.They had relaxing breakfasts in the garden and obviously love nature. It was a pleasure to have them and I'm delighted they enjoyed their stay so much.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Italy
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    August 2018

    my friend and I spent a week in this magnificent place. Very quiet country, near the market and the bus stop, Mrs. Madeleine was very kind we did not miss anything we felt at home .. I recommend ❤

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Madeleine in ,

    Thank you both. It was a pleasure to have you stay in my home and I'm happy that you had a lovely time here. Kind regards, Madeleine

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Italy
    Age 25 - 34

    1 heart
    August 2018

    The room was very hot, but more, you can’t the kitchen, you can just put one or two bottles in the fridge. The owner goes in the room when you are outside...... no place for parking a car.... no air conditioner..... full of cats and I’m allergic.... never again !!!!

    Assolutamente da evitare. a parte la stanza caldissima, la signora poco cordiale, entra in stanza quando tu non ci sei, mancandoti assolutamente di rispetto. Per di più vive con almeno 4 gatti, che d’improvviso ti trovi in stanza. Non puoi usare la cucina e se vuoi mettere qualcosa in frigo la devi pregare. Impossibile parcheggiare ogni sera perdevo almeno 30 minuti per trovare un posto vicino. Mai ma dico mai più !!!

    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Madeleine in ,

    Luciano came to Malta during a heatwave. He was advised to keep the shutters closed during the day which he refused to do. He used a towel as a mat so I had to throw it away. He threw all his rubbish in one bin though the recycling was explained to him. He did not read the room guest information. He obviously did not read my information on the site which clearly states no cooking no air conditioning and pet details.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    France

    5 hearts
    August 2015

    Pour la première fois, nous avons choisi l'hébergement chez l'habitant et nous avons beaucoup apprécié. Madeleine nous a apporté des conseils pour nos visites. Elle parle français ce qui nous a bien aidé pour communiquer, car notre anglais est très approximatif. Cette première expérience a été très concluante et sera renouvelée sans aucune doute.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    France

    2 hearts
    May 2015

    Petit gite agreable au calme. Bien pour 2 personnes, trop petit pour 3.
    Malheureusement l acceuil et la convivialite n y sont pas: tantot froideur, tantot indifference. Et toujours des remarques desagreablement formulees! Proprete tres limite!
    Petit dejeuner a la limite du respect: restes de pain de la veille, café lyophilisé, margarine, fonds de pots de confiture, pas de jus de fruits, corn flakes perimes!!!
    Vraiment dommage que Madeleine ne soit pas plus avenante et attentionnee car son gite pourrait etre tres agreable.

    Read more »

  • 1424613841 original

    Spain
    Age 55 - 64

    4.8 hearts
    September 2014

    Madeleine, made me feel like in my own home. She even invinted me to some events which I enjoyed a lot.
    As for facilities, I had all what I needed and spent a fornight in a very nice atmosphere.
    I´m very satisfied with the results.

    Kind regards!!
    Nati.

  • 1425229702 original

    Italy
    Age 55 - 64

    4.9 hearts
    August 2011

    Perfetto!!!
    Madeleine è stata una perfetta "host"! Sempre gentile, disponibile e cordiale. Ci ha messo a perfetto nostro agio.
    La posizione della casa non è centrale rispetto a Valletta, ma comoda: vicinissima alla fermata degli autobus.
    Casa pulita, con tutti i comfort ok. Nessuna sorpresa; tutto secondo le aspettative. Anzi, meglio!

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies