About the Homestay

Cosmopolitan Architectural
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

I live on the lower slopes of the Cashmere Hills among the trees with a stunning view of the main divide. I am a part time teacher of adult literacy and tutor refugee and migrant classes in sewing and NZ cuisine
I have travelled NZ extensively ,parts of Australia and in 2017 spent three months discovering Europe. I have extensive knowledge of NZ particularly our beautiful South Island
My adult family are involved in tourism, music teaching, building, education, naval services, dairy farming and parenting.
I have a young cat Mollie who makes her own arrangements. I also have a young black Labrador, Gus who is playful and friendly. He is caged if guests are not keen for his company. I am a hill walker, having done most of the trails on the Port Hills. I cycle although not a Lycra chick and better on cooler days. I have two cycles available for use. (NZ laws require helmets to be worn)

My home is on four levels with the guest ensuite room being on the main level. All levels have views over the city to the main mountain divide.......glorious in winter.
Guests are welcome to use my living spaces. The main lounge has a pellet fire, stereo and piano. The dining living room has TV, Wifi access and comfortable seating leading to sunny deck for outdoor dining during the summer. Modern laundry facilities are available.
There is ample parking for vehicles. The Orbiter bus connection is handy as is the city bus and as I am less than 3kms from the city centre taxi fares are reasonable.
NB: It is possible to access my home with a wheelchair although there are five deep steps to the front door. The ensuite shower is 900 m2 and cosy. There is a larger wheelchair accessible toilet on the main floor.


Cat, Dog

House Facilities
  • Pets
  • Pets Indoor
  • Non Smoking
  • Allow Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 2 nights

Maximum stay is for 365 nights

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

Garden view
From $60 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom ensuite (within room)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Large Double en suite room with queen size bed. The room is west facing and has views over the garden.

  • Wheelchair Accessible
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Carpet / Moquette
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
Weekly Price
Monthly price
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

My home is located on the lower slopes of the Cashmere Hills.
Green and leafy it has great views of the city across the plain and to the hills beyond. My section is 1000 M2 with terraced gardens, large trees, developing fernery and native flora. I border a reserve making it rather like living in our own park. I am within 3kms of the city centre. There are city buses at the bottom of the hill and the Orbiter bus which travels a wide area of the city including the university is accessed through a lane from my lower gate.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Swimming
  • Library
  • Shopping Centre
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop


Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Half Board
Diet Type available on request
  • Vegetarian
  • Coeliac
  • Lactose Intolerant

House Rules

Check out time is 10 am or by prior arrangement.
Breakfast is served 7am - 9 am. Earlier/ later if requested.
Please do not consume takeaway food in our bedrooms. You are welcome to use our dining area, cutlery and crockery.

Smoking is allowed outdoors only.

35 Reviews

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8yntgwmtk zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  40f2c077274f8669660191ea5036d56305061fdc&style=small

    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    January 2020

    Joe ist unglaublich bemüht und herzlich, das Baumhaus ist ein Traum, ebenso das liebevoll zubereitete Frühstück.
    Unbedingt zu empfehlen

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zmdy5odi zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  a2c7b285411f09a53760419566db44aca31b1a48&style=small

    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    December 2019

    Jo was such a lovely, caring host who made us feel like at home from the moment we were warmly greeted by her when we arrived..We enjoyed her dinner and the breakfasts with her which she had prepared with great care and in a really stylish manner. The en suite bedroom and the new bathroom with perfect shower and extra heating were an additional bonus to our three night stay. Time with her in her lovely and comfortable house passed far too quickly and we had a very interesting and stimulating discussion with one of her other guests who had booked also a room with her. This is the kind of homestay which we can recommend without thinking twice.

    Read more »

  • Picture?type=square&height=200&width=200

    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    April 2019

    I arrived late in the night and had to leave early next morning, but the short stay was perfect. The room was impeccable and Jo was patient, caring and ready to help me out with my logistics. I am grateful for her warm and friendly reception and highly recommend her as a host.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 75+

    5 hearts
    March 2019

    Jo is a charming host and her house and garden on the hillside are beautiful. I stayed two nights in her garden room with modern ensuite bathroom, and I was welcome to use the kitchen, living areas and garden. The linens were beautiful, the bed comfortable, everywhere was very clean, and the view through the trees was lovely. The location is convenient to central Christchurch with a frequent bus just a few minutes away at the bottom of the hill where there are a few choices for meals. Jo was so very kindly waiting for me at the train station when I arrived in the evening, and she was also able to drive me to the airport. I can thoroughly recommend Jo for a homestay in Christchurch, and hope to visit again some day.

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ymtqymjk zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  21f7935567bf2e9e0600bdf002b14b211f768908&style=small

    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    January 2019

    Ich kann es nicht in Worte fassen, wie wunderbar es bei Jo war. Ein Gefühl von Familie. Supertolles Frühstück sogar mit Stoffservietten, tolles Bett, tolle Aussicht, tolles Bad, toller Garten, prima Tipps, äußerst liebenswürdige Gastgeberin. Schade, dass wir nur 4 Tage da waren.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    November 2018

    Jo is a wonderful host you turn up as guests and leave as friends. Lovely relaxed style and great conversation and suggestions. We loved Hanmer springs and did a wonderful Albatross encounter. Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble thoroughly recommend thank you Jo hope to see you in Akaroa

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    March 2018

    Jo was amazing helpful and friendly, uncomplicated!
    The House is wonderful, pur Room with extra bath Great!
    Mostly we liked the Breakfast ...
    An wonderful Experience!!

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    March 2018

    Our trip through NZ couldn't have started better. Jo is such a friendly, helpful person who even drove us around in her car to show us parts of Christchurch which had been devastated by earthquakes, especially in 2011.
    The ground floor room we lived in is spacious and cosy.
    The breakfast she offered us was delightful: muesli, fruit, toast, the delicious Manuka honey, jam, cheese etc.
    In the evening, we had (optional) dinners! They were delicious!
    All in all, if we could give 6 hearts or more, we would do so.

    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Jo in ,

    Thank you Klaus for your kind words. I’m was delighted to be your first kiwi host. I trust your continuing travels topped the hearts too. Lovely to meet you and Angelika (sp). I was impressed by your interest of our once battered city and happy to show you the real effect. Hope to meet again one day, safe passage. Jo

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ymty2mtk zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  d1c77912b1c49361f296062e9019b4e36bb2ff50&style=small

    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    February 2018

    I really enjoyed the time with Jo and in her cosy home and I wish I could have spent more time there. Jo is such a nice, helpful person and I´m glad that I met her and found this lovely and peaceful place. The beautiful garden with an amazing view over Christchurch was perfect for relaxing. From the first contact until I had to say goodbye I felt very comfortable and everything seemed very familiar and easy going. Thank you Jo for a very pleasant and unforgettable homestay!

    Read more »

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Jo in ,

    Thank you Ariane for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet and host you. I am fortunate to live in this lovely environment and be able to share with others. Thank you also for your interaction with my other guests. I do plan to venture across the seas next year and will be sure to contact you. Best Wishes for this coming year.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8ymtg4njc zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  d870cd3d555b064348399491905ff4fd11b0e877&style=small

    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    February 2018

    Jo is a wonderful host with a beautiful home in a great location. When I'm next in Christchurch this is where I'll stay!
    P.S. the breakfast and coffee is awesome :oD

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Jo in ,

    Super to have you in my patch, Tom. I thoroughly enjoyed our conversations. Thanks for your comments about breakfast, your interaction with others and your easy manner. so glad you enjoyed.
    I trust all your sea adventures went to plan....see you next time.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies