About the Homestay

Suburban Cosy
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

We live in a bungalow in a lovely residential part of the city. The room I have is a single room with shared bathroom. The house has 2 bedrooms, lounge, kitchen diner and family bathroom. The area we live in has great walks and is a truly beautiful place. We have a friendly black Labrador Max. We enjoy walking Max, cooking, listening to music, going to the cinema, and we spend many holidays in Italy. Vincenzo is Italian (Tuscany) and after falling in love with Edinburgh became a resident in 1977. Italian is also spoken in the household for any Italian visitors. We have hosted foreign language students for many years and really enjoy meeting people from different cultures. I grew up in the historical part of the city centre so am happy to provide as much information as I can, on the many places of interest you may wish to visit during your stay. Vincenzo and I ran a B and B for many years, as well as hosting foreign language students from all over the world. We are friendly, warm and hospitable.
There is a bus which goes to the city centre every 10 minutes.

Additional Info

Free on-Street parking . English. And Italian speaking household

Pets

Dog

House Facilities
  • Laundry
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm
  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • Non Smoking

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 2 nights

Maximum stay is for 29 nights

Available for given dates

Single
From £52 per night
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Very bright room with Single day bed very comfortable, decorated in a typical Scottish decor. Fitted wardrobe, desk, chair and tv. There is a small bedside cabinet with lamp. Very bright quiet room. Parquet flooring.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • TV
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
Nightly Price
£60
Weekly Price
£409
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

Our house is approximately 30 minutes by bus into the city centre. We have an excellent bus service with buses leaving from near the house every 10 minutes. In the vicinity are the Pentland Hills as well as some beautiful walks including Spylaw Park, Swanston Regional Park. Colinton village is about 5 minutes away awhere there is an Italian restaurant, a lovely cafe, post office and speciality shops as well as a couple of bars.

We are near the city bypass and Edinburgh Airport which is approximately 20 minutes away by car. For guests who enjoy the cafe culture, there is an area called morningside 10 minutes by bus, where you can enjoy the many cafes, bars, and quirky little shops.

Local Area Facilities
  • Park
  • Library
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop

Meals

Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

Sorry use of kitchen not included. Washing can be done once a week on request. Non smoking household. No drugs.
If you wish a friend to visit this must be done by prior arrangement.
We also would be grateful if you could treat the household with respect, by way of coming and going as quietly as possible and locking the door after you. We will.respect you as long as you respect us
We also hope you enjoy your stay with us.
Breakfast self service between 8am and 9.30am

Smoking is not allowed.

2 Reviews

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Scotland
    Age 45 - 54

    5 hearts
    May 2016

    First time using Homestay (or anything like this) so didn't know what to expect but really enjoyed the whole experience and works perfectly for someone like myself who works pretty long hours. The house was fantastic and Aileen made me feel very welcome.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussimz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci80nzgwmt9lehbpcmvzx2lubjsavekidhb1cnbvc2ugowbussimzgvmyxvsday7afrjig9lehbpcmvzx2f0bjsavda%3d  7aff3fc3be715456c50bdc89fe526520b22da8ff&style=small

    United Kingdom
    Age 65 - 74

    3 hearts
    August 2015

    I didn't see much of the hosts as I was out most of the time. The accomodation was fine.

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 199 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies