Lovely home with welcoming host.

Homestay in Oxgangs - Edinburgh, United Kingdom

About the Homestay

Urban Shabby chic
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

Hello. I have created a lovely home and enjoy welcoming people from all over the world.

My apartment is situated near beautiful Pentland hills which you can admire from the sunny seated balcony. There is a bus stop close by where there are frequent buses that only take 15-20 minutes to the beautiful cultural centre of Edinburgh.

The room is a bright double bedroom which has a desk for study and a built in wardrobe, there is a shared bathroom/shower and toilet, a large attractive modern open plan kitchen dinning/living room with computer area and there is a patio door to the balcony. I Have a private garden also where like to garden and have barbecues weather permitting. There is also plenty space for keep your bicycles or you can borrow mine for a small fee.

I work full time gardening.

My Pets

2 Dogs

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Bikes for use
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Smoke alarm

Bedrooms available for booking

Minimum stay is for 5 nights

Maximum stay is for 32 nights

Available for given dates

Long stay? If you have a reoccuring schedule where days in the week do not require accommodation, you can unselect those days below. This will inform the host and reduce the price of your stay.

Bright double bedroom
From £35 per night
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

Large Bright double room

  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Bedside Locker / Nightstand
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
You have selectedNightsPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

My home is situated in a calm green residential area south of Edinburgh city centre.

There is a bus stop 2 minutes walk away, the day time bus services run frequently and there is an hourly night bus which takes only 15-25 minutes to get to the centre of Edinburgh

10 minutes by bus you can get to the popular village like Morningside and Brunsfield areas where there are plenty of lovely wee specialist and boutique shops, trendy cafes and bars. If you like hill walking cycling or would like to learn to ski there are the Pentland hills just a few minutes away.

There are a few small grocery shops, supermarkets, takeaways, post offices that are only a few minutes walk away.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Bowling
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Museum
  • Shopping Centre
  • Amusement Park
  • Horse Stables
  • Sports arena
  • Health club
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital


Hosts can offer a complimentary light breakfast at their discretion. All other meals, including a full breakfast, might incur an additional cost, if offered. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Complimentary Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen

House Rules

I love to keep my apartment clean and tidy and very happy to share the living space if you keep areas you use clean tidy at all times after use.

I like to live a reasonably quite untroubled life so keeping noise to a minimum after midnight is important.

Please do not invite strangers into my home. If you would like to invite a trusted friend you must have my consent in advance and I charge an extra if staying over.

Ensure that the apartment is safe and secure by ensuring the front door is firmly locked and when going out nothing that can cause an electrical fire is left on.

Please make yourself at home and enjoy your stay. If there is anything you need help with just ask as I am always happy to help if I can.

Smoking Rules

Your host is a non-smoker.

Smoking is allowed outdoors only.

13 Reviews

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    September 2023

    Joanna had a beautiful home and gorgeous, friendly dogs. I could not recommend her enough. She is so kind and would go out her way to accommodate any needs you had. Truly a wonderful stay and a warm welcome.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zntuwnju zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  2ef7263ef74b9bc8d44e96c20fec3552a566d19f&style=small

    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    August 2023

    This guest awarded the host 5 hearts but didn’t leave any comments.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    July 2023

    Mon séjour chez Joanna s'est très bien passé car Joanna est très agréable, respectueuse et joyeuse. Son appartement est beau, la chambre est assez grande, confortable et lumineuse. Et, elle est placée dans un quartier calme ayant un supermarché à proximité pas cher. En plus, elle n'est pas loin du centre ville, à 18/20 minutes en bus et l'arrêt de bus se trouve à une minute de sa maison. Les bus circulent assez souvent dans la journée ainsi que la nuit.
    Merci pour tout Joanna. Je recommande à %. ;)

    Read more »

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 55 - 64

    5 hearts
    June 2023

    Vielen Dank an Joanna, die eine sehr freundliche, hilfsbereite und entspannte Vermieterin war. Sie hat mich herzlich aufgenommen und alles war unkompliziert. Die Wohnung ist sauber, mit viel Liebe dekoriert, das Zimmer klein, aber fein.
    Die Kommunikation mit Joanna im Vorfeld war auch sehr gut. Alle Fragen hat sie schnell beantwortet.
    Die Wohnung liegt zwar nicht im Zentrum der Stadt, aber die Bushaltestelle ist direkt um die Ecke und alles ist per Bus sehr gut zu erreichen.

    Read more »

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zmzu1ndg zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  2622d5648fc88750ba735dbebf70943483f17692&style=small

    United States
    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    October 2022

    Fantastic Host and great location for Edinburgh city exploring! Joanna helped me navigate the city, grocery shop and I had wonderful experience.
    Hope to be back soon!

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Joanna in ,

    Was a pleasure to host you thank you for booking with me

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    United Kingdom
    Age 18 - 24

    5 hearts
    September 2022

    Joanna was a very friendly, hospitable host throughout my stay. The apartment is a pleasant place to stay and nicely situated so that travel is easy whether you're going into town or for a walk in the countryside. Overall I enjoyed my experience and would recommend to others.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    August 2022

    Everything was perfect!!

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8zmjy5mdc zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  ec51d97ece503300a14071a1c53bd75bafa498f7&style=small

    Saudi Arabia
    Age 25 - 34

    5 hearts
    July 2022

    Joanna is a lovely and helpful person, you'll feel like you're at home.
    The room is cozy with fantastic double bed.
    There is close Bus stop with high frequency that goes to center and back again.

    Stayed one month and overall it was a great experience and I highly recommend it. For sure I may stay here again in the future.

  • Graphic avatar placeholder

    Age 35 - 44

    5 hearts
    June 2022

    Joanna was a great host. I would definitely recommend her.

  • Picture?ss=bah7cekicgdpzay6bkvussinz2lkoi8vahn0l0f2yxrhci8xotmzmzc zxhwaxjlc19pbgy7afrjigxwdxjwb3nlbjsavekidgrlzmf1bhqgowbussipzxhwaxjlc19hday7afqw  600e67f7bf0fc2af8924420e5cc3eaf33ae2c76d&style=small

    Age 65 - 74

    5 hearts
    May 2022

    It was nice to meet Joanna (thanks for everything!) and her lovely dogs. Sleeping in such a comfortable bed was great. It was practical to have 2-3 direct bus lines to the centre and 1 to the airport at your doorsteps. It was relatively calm as per a big city there. Close to the hills, parks and food stores. No stable wifi connection could only save your time for outdoor activities :-) A hot spot had to be used instead. Unlimited access to the kitchen and bathroom/toilet and availability of almost everything that you might need (except for the slippers) was appreciated.

    Read more »

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (maximum of 250 $£€ for longer term bookings) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or as stated by your host on their profile and agreed by you on booking. Please be cautious if a host requests advance payment if its not included on their profile. Our hosts have been advised that if they wish to request advance payment they must make this explicit in their profile. We do not recommend the use of Money gram or Western Union.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies