Musical home near transit

Homestay in Newton - Surrey, Canada
$26Best room price
per night for monthly stays

About the Homestay

Urban Cosy
  • Welcomes
  • Males
  • Females
  • Couples
  • Families
  • Students

My husband, Ray, and myself live in a older home on a larger lot in Surrey, Greater Vancouver, BC. We are near to transit to White Rock beach, shopping, an urban forest, or downtown Vancouver.

We have two extremely friendly animals, two sweet, young cats. I teach Piano from my home studio (which doubles as the living room) and we all love to garden. I also really enjoy baking so there will be homemade treats upon occasion, such as rhubarb crisp or muffins for breakfast and, in the summer, lots of fresh produce from the garden. On sunny days its nice to sit out on our deck and enjoy your breakfast, tea or coffee.

We are a 5 minute stroll from transit going several directions and Greater Vancouver is a beautiful place to explore whether you are looking for shopping, hiking, parasailing, canoeing or dancing.

Additional Info

We speak only English and are willing and able to help you if you are here to study English as a Second language.
You are welcome to play the piano when I am not teaching, and you are welcome to borrow the keyboard.

Pets

2 Cats

House Facilities
  • Garden
  • Laundry
  • Patio
  • Parking
  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke alarm

Bedrooms available for booking

   

Southwest bedroom
$35
Double Room
Sleeps 2

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Double Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This room has a double bed and a skylight, giving it lots of natural light.

Facilities
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
2 guests
Nightly Price
$35
$40
Weekly Price
$225
$250
Monthly price
$800
$950
Basement Family room
$35
Twin Room
Sleeps 3

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
2 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is a large room in the basement. It has a working fireplace (wood) and a couch. The "beds" are really mattresses without frames and we only rent it out on occasion. It's nice and cool in the hot summers.

Facilities
  • TV
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Carpet / Moquette
 1 guest
2+ Guests
Nightly Price
$35
$50
Weekly Price
$220
$315
Monthly price
$840
$1,200
Southeast bedroom
$40
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is a medium sized bedroom upstairs. It has a window facing east so it is cool and not bright in the summer.

Facilities
  • Desk and Lamp
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
 1 guest
Nightly Price
$40
Weekly Price
$252
Monthly price
$960
North bedroom
$40
Single Room
Sleeps 1

Bathroom shared (with family / other guests)
1 Single Bed

Bedroom availableNot available for dates

This is a smallish bedroom with a comfortable single bed and a large north facing window so it has good natural light but isn't hot even in summer.

Facilities
  • Dresser / Drawers
  • Closet / Wardrobe
  • Carpet / Moquette
  • Mirror
  • Hair-dryer
  • Radio
 1 guest
Nightly Price
$40
Weekly Price
$252
Monthly price
$960
You have selectedPrice of StayBooking FeeTotal

About the Area

We have an older home on a nicely treed lot in residential Newton. We are 3 minutes by foot from several bus routes, convenient to picturesque White Rock as well as Surrey center, Langley shopping and connections to the City of Vancouver. We are only a 35 minute drive from the Vancouver airport (in Richmond) which is also accessible by transit.
We have pianos, friendly cats and good home cooking and baking.
From our home it's easy to reach the beach, shopping, tourism, and only about 45-60 minutes to the mountains.

Local Area Facilities
  • Tennis
  • Park
  • Gym
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Bowling
  • Beach
  • Cinema
  • Library
  • Shopping Centre
  • Horse Stables
  • Water sports
  • Sports arena
  • Health club
  • Restaurant
  • Bus Stop
  • Train station
  • Hospital

Meals

Please note that only a light breakfast is included in the room rate. All other meals will incur an additional cost. Meals and any additional payment should be arranged directly with your host.

Included in the stay
  • Light Breakfast
  • Use of Kitchen
Available on request at an extra cost
  • Half Board
  • Full Board
  • Packed lunch
Diet Type available on request
  • Vegetarian

House Rules

Smoking is only allowed outside.
Please do not invite strangers into our home without consulting with us.
Please contact us if you will be arriving at the house after 10:30 pm.
Please ask before beginning a shower or bath.
Payment:
25% payment is required in advance via PayPal or e Transfer. The balance is required upon arrival by cash, PayPal or etransfer.

Smoking is not allowed.

4 Reviews

  • 4 hearts
    May 2018

    Colleen and Raymond,are Pleasant Hosts,friendly and ready to help,the Accommodation well sized room,with easy access to all Amenities.Thank you friends

  • 5 hearts
    December 2017

    I just have one word: Wonderful
    I’m really glad that I found Colleen and Ray.

  • 5 hearts
    September 2017

    Lovely atmosphere and wonderful host. Stayed for three weeks and enjoyed the garden and fresh arugula and herbs. The muffin what Colleen made is fantastic. Will stay again for sure.

  • 5 hearts
    July 2017

    The host is a kindly,happypily perple.
    Live here you can learn more culture in Canada.
    We are so happy live here

    Host reply
    Homestay Host Family Colleen in ,

    Oh, thank you for your review Sylvia. It was so great to have your family stay with us!

How do I book?

Contact the host to check their availability and ask them any questions you have about staying with them. Once the host confirms they’re available for your dates, you can complete your booking.

When do I pay?

Once a host confirms they're available, you can go ahead and pay the 15% booking fee (minimum booking fee may apply) using a choice of payment methods: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Maestro, Laser, JCB & PayPal (not available in certain countries). You then pay your host on arrival or by prior arrangement.

When can I share my contact details?

Host and Guest email address, phone number and home address will be exchanged in a confirmation email sent to both immediately after a booking is completed. It's against our policy for Guests and Hosts to exchange direct contact details via our messaging system.

    This website uses cookies